Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , , ,      7 years ago     1624 Views     Comments Off on Sheppard Caulks Up Another Outlaw Score  




DUNDEE, NY.- June 17, 2017-Friday night was a clear and muggy night at Outlaw Speedway as the A Verdi Patriot Sprint Tour joined the regular Super 6 Show for the Jeff Searles Memorial Night, presented by Scorpion Security Products.

Scott Kruetter took the lead at the start of the A-Verdi Patriot Sprint Tour ‘A’ Main over Coleman Gulick.  After two quick cautions, action resumed on lap 5 with Kruetter pulling away and getting into traffic at the halfway point as Gulilck battled with Steve Collins and Robbie Stillwagon.  Kruetter pulled out to a straightaway lead in the closing laps to take the win as the final 20 laps ran caution-free.  Gulick took second, followed by Collins, Stillwagon, and Johnathan Preston.

A Verdi Patriot Sprint Tour heats were won by Scott Kreutter, Joe Trenca, and Robbie Stillwagon.  The Patriot Sprint Tour Dash was won by Jordan Thomas.

Eldon Payne Jr and Dillon Groover swapped the lead in the early laps of the 30-lap Friendly Dodge BB/SB Modified feature as Alan Johnson and Matt Sheppard moved into contention.  Johnson was looking for the win to continue having a chance to score the Insinger Race Fuels/Sunoco Modified Challenge Bonus, while Sheppard was looking to add to his point lead and win total.  Sheppard charged into third on a lap 8 restart then took second when Payne slipped in turn two on lap 10.  Two laps later, Sheppard took the lead from Groover as Don Lawson moved into third, leaving Payne to battle Alan Johnson for fourth.  Sheppard pulled a straightaway lead as Lawson battled Groover for second.  Alan Johnson’s night came to an end as he pulled pitside with problems on lap 22.  Lawson’s night ended with a slight puff of smoke two laps later.  Sheppard brought it home for another win over Groover, Ted Dgien, Cory Costa, and Payne.

Friendly Dodge BB/SB Modified heats were won by Matt Sheppard, Alan Johnson, and Dillon Groover.

The 25-lap Crate Sportsman feature started with Loren Lincoln taking the lead as Mike Bunchanan made a nice move to roll into second place.  Karl Comfort was on the move with Tom Collins and Dale Welty, with Comfort challenging Frank Guererri Jr for third on lap 8.  Comfort took second on lap 12 as Collins grabbed third and five laps later they caught Lincoln and began battling for the lead through traffic.  Collins snuck by Comfort for second on lap 21 and went after Lincoln, and as the white flag waved, the trio were three wide for the lead, but disaster struck in turn three as Lincoln hopped a wheel and went for a wild series of flips off turn three.  This set up a one lap battle for the win, which Collins took over Comfort,

Crate Sportsman heats were won by Loren Lincoln, Karl Comfort, and Dale Welty.

In the 20-lap Crate Late Model feature, JJ Mazur grabbed the lead from the pole, but Brian Knowles fought him hard and slipped into the lead on lap 5. Knowles pulled away from Mazur by several car lengths but Mazur closed in to battle Knowles for the final three laps, falling two car lengths short at the finish.  Knowles grabbed the win over Mazur, Kurt Stebbins, and Brad Smith.

JJ Mazur won the lone Crate Late Model heat race.

Brad Smith grabbed the top spot at the start of the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature as Bill and Will Ward battled behind him. Bill Ward’s car slowed on the backstretch
on lap 5 and he ducked into the infield as Smith continued to lead.  The pace was slowed by Todd Stone’s spin on lap 11, which erased Smith’s lead and brought Phil Yaw,
Glenn Whritenour, and Rich Michael up behind Smith and Ward for the restart.  Michael and Whritenour grabbed spots on the restart, with Michael coming up to battle Ward
for second place.  Mike Stoddard’s spin on lap 17 set up a shootout to the finish, with Michael grabbing second on lap 18, but Smith had enough to hold him off for the win.
Michael, Ward, Whritenour, and Rich Karlnoski.

IMCA Modified heats were won by Will Ward and Rich Michael.

LaVerne Knickerbocker was the early leader of the 20-lap Street Stock feature, but on a lap 2 restart he tangled with Kurt Stebbins going into turn one, collecting a few other
cars and ending Knickerbocker’s night. Stebbins took the lead on the restart as Jared Hill and Glenn Whritenour battled past Bob Buono to chase after the leader.  Whritenour
distanced himself from Hill and at the halfway point was on Stebbins’ bumper, battling for the lead.  Whritenour took the lead on lap 13 and held on the rest of the way for
the win over Stebbins, while Chuck Winslow held off Jared Hill for third.  Bob Buono rounded out the top five.

Street Stock heats were won by LaVern Knickerbocker and Kurt Stebbins.

After an opening lap tangle in the 20-lap 4 Cylinder feature, Ray Hyer jumped from the inside of the second row to second spot behind Timmy Borden Jr. Hyer took the lead
on a lap 2 restart as AJ Potrzebowski also passed Borden for second spot.  Dante Mancuso, who was involved in the opening lap tangle, came storming back through the field
to move into third as Hyer pulled away to take another win in the division.  Potrzebowski barely beat Mancuso to the line for sceond, followed by Erica Bell and Timmy
Borden Jr.

4 Cylinder heats were won by Billy Bowers and AJ Potrzebowski.

Marc Minutolo took the lead at the end of the first lap of the 10-lap Farmer Insurance/Marion Decker Agency IMCA Hobby Stock feature and led the rest of the way
for the win over Dave Decker and Allison Pierce.

In the Winner’s Circle Deli Bandit feature event, Braden Buchanan led the opening laps till he had trouble in turn four and wound up making a pit stop.
Jordan Bacon battled Cole Youse for the lead till he dropped out on lap 7, giving Youse the win over Buchanan and Steven Perkins III.

Racing at Outlaw Speedway continues with the “Ultimate Outlaw 100” for the Super DIRTcar Series on Tuesday, June 20th.  A DIRTcar Sportsman Series event and the Fight Night
Street Stock Series will also be on the card.  For details, visit