Sweeny, Long and Geist are Mahoning Winners…Rain Postponed Remaining Features

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , , , ,      8 years ago     1140 Views     Comments Off on Sweeny, Long and Geist are Mahoning Winners…Rain Postponed Remaining Features  


[xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”] 

July 25 Pro 4 35 laps $400 to win + all regular track classes + Micro Stocks + Kids Banner Contest

Aug. 1 CSMGS Race # 3 & #4 Modified Twin 50s $1800 to win each + all regular divisions

Aug. 15 Hobby Stock 35 laps $400 to win + all regular track classes

Mike Sweeney, Jillian Long, Shayne Geist Score Mahoning Valley Feature Wins Before Rains Came…Randy Ahner Jr. Winner In Small Car Enduro



(LEHIGHTON, Pa. 7-18-15) Mike Sweeney of Nesquehoning was zipping around handily in the Late Model feature but with three laps to go heavy rains swept over the area and ended the race there and the remaining divisional features as well which included the Modifieds, Pro 4 and Hobby Stocks.

When the Late Model race began Tony Hilliard led the field to the green, however, outside front row starter Kenny Hein would jet to the opening lap lead while fourth starting Sweeney whizzed quickly to second. Sweeney then traveled only a few laps before taking over the race lead on lap five.

Point leader Paul Koehler Jr., was also in fast mode and was able to pull alongside Hein and the two began a thrilling side-by-side dual. Unfortunately for Koehler it came to an abrupt halt on lap eight. Koehler spun and crashed in the incident that unfolded after both drivers traded paint as they headed into turn one. For Koehler, he wasn’t able to hold on and slid backwards towards the wall. Hein, who had been on the inside, escaped but not so lucky was Jacob Kerstetter who was collected and hit Koehler as an innocent victim.

When the race resumed Sweeney was still in command while Frankie Althouse was chasing in second. That pair then stayed 1-2 until the race ended on lap 22. For Sweeney it marked his third win of the season and 30th overall career victory.

Jacob Nemeth had a season best third, George Ramos was fourth and while Hein completed the top five.

Althouse and Sweeney notched heat wins.

In the Street Stock main Jillian Long of Lehighton passed Lonnie Behler on lap 19 and then went on to gain her first win of the year. She also became the 10th different winner in 11 races thus far.

At the outset Behler gunned by pole sitter George Ramos. By lap three Stacey Brown was running second while Long and Steven Steigerwalt ran two-wide for third.

Long was by far the fastest car from the start of the night. She just missed surpassing the track record in her heat. Thus when the feature began she was able to carry that speed and it served her well. It did take her to lap 14 to improve the spot on Brown, which was after a restart. Now it was onto Behler.

Closely she stayed with leader and on lap 20 her rapid moving No. 97 was able to eke to the front. The next time by Behler was just about to be rescored at the top when the caution negated that effort after a few cars spun in turn three.

On the restart there was no denying Long as she bested Behler. Gene Bowers was showing strength within the final 10 laps and did make a valid charge but despite the bumper-to-bumper racing, Long held on for the win. Behler, Brown and point leader Zach Graver completed the top five.

Heat winners were Steigerwalt, Bowers and Long with Randy Ahner Jr, annexing the consi.

In the make-up May 30 Hobby Stock feature, Lehighton’s Shayne Geist scored the win. Geist was placed in the lead under a lap 14 caution after his brother, Cody Geist, who had led from the start, was set back three spots for advancing in a no-passing zone at the onset.  

When the race resumed for the green-white-checker finish, Shayne Geist held on for his class leading fourth win of the year while also regaining the division point’s lead. Rookie Lyndsay Buss raced to her third runner-up of the year while Cody Geist was third.

Even though rains stops half of the regular program, it wasn’t the same case for the Small Car Enduro as they were called out to race despite the inclement weather.

Jim Thorpe’s Randy Ahner Jr., dominated during the second half of the 1-hour event and after 192 completed laps, scored the win by a 5-lap margin over Ross Gursky.


Late Model Feature Finish (25 Laps): 1. Mike Sweeney, 2. Frankie Althouse, 3. Jacob Nemeth, 4. George Ramos, 5. Kenny Hein, 6. Tony Hilliard, 7. Paul Koehler Jr., 8. Broc Brown, 9. Barry Kutz, 10. Jacob Kerstetter DNS: Rich Cooper


Street Stock Feature Finish (30 Laps): 1. Jillian Long, 2. Gene Bowers, 3. Lonnie Behler, 4. Stacey Brown, 5. Zach Graver, 6. Steve Steigerwalt, 7. Kristy Arthofer, 8. Aaron Kromer, 9. Jared Ahner, 10. Todd Ahner, 11. TJ Gursky, 12. Randy Schlenker, 13. Jonathan Tracey, 14. Jason Frey, 15. Joe Stangle, 16. Jamie Smith, 17. George Ramos, 18. Jason Kuhn, 19. Corey Edelman, 20. Randy Ahner Jr., 21. Brian Labar, 22. Josh Mooney DNQ: Bernie Uphold, Joe Mooney, Logan Boyer


Hobby Stock 5/30 Make-up Feature Finish (15 Laps): 1. Shayne Geist, 2. Lyndsay Buss, 3. Cody Geist, 4. Rich Mutarelli, 5. Collin Bollinger, 6. Jeff Biegley, 7. Kyle Krempasky, 8. Seth VanFossen, 9. Tim Oswald, 10. Gunner Yost, 11. Devin Schmidt, 12. Michael Wambold, 13. Daniel Hargan, 14. TJ Kapish