‘Lou Blaney Memorial’ Up Next for UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , ,      6 years ago     1068 Views     Leave your thoughts  


Three Different Winners Crowned During Independence Day Weekend

[xyz-ihs snippet=”Horizontal-Google-Banner-Series”]

Indianapolis, IN (July 8th, 2015) – After racing three consecutive events in two different states during the recent Independence Day weekend, the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions will now turn their attention towards a much less hectic weekend in eastern Ohio. The stars and cars of the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions will trek back across the ‘Buckeye State’ and visit the Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio on Saturday evening, July 11th. The 7th annual ‘Lou Blaney Memorial’ in on tap at the state-of-the-art facility with a top prize equaling $10,000.


“We are honored to be a part of the ‘Lou Blaney Memorial’ in 2015” said UNOH All Star series owner Tony Stewart, “Lou Blaney is considered by most as one of the greats of grassroots racing and to have the opportunity to honor his life and racing achievements through our series is very special.”


The UNOH All Stars made a recent visit to the 3/8 – mile oval on Tuesday, June 23rd during round five of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket. Dale Blaney, the ‘Hometown Hero’ from Hartford, Ohio, earned the $5,000 Ohio Sprint Speedweek victory; his sixth career Sharon Speedway victory lane appearance with the traveling series. ‘The Lowrider,’ piloting the familiar GoMuddy.com, Big Game Treestands, CH Motorsports, # 1, will lead the UNOH All Stars into competition on July 11th not only as the most recent winner at Sharon Speedway, but also as the current series points leader.


Cody Darrah, driver of the J&K Salvage # 89, will move into the one-day Sharon Speedway event second in the current UNOH All Star championship standings. Hunter Racing’s Chad Kemenah, will enter the upcoming weekend third in the championship chase on the strength of one victory, nine top-five and 17 top-ten finishes. Recent Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket champion Greg Wilson will enter the ‘Lou Blaney Memorial’ event fourth in the series standings, followed by Sheldon Haudenschild, a two time winner in 2015.


The UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions recently wrapped up a three-race swing during the Fourth of July weekend; entering action at the Mercer Raceway Park in Mercer, Pennsylvania and at the recently reopened Millstream Speedway in Findlay, Ohio. The series welcomed three different drivers to the top of the podium during their holiday swing, including two repeat winners and one new winner for 2015.


The regional travelers kicked off their holiday weekend on Friday night, July 3rd at the Mercer Raceway Park. Lee Jacobs came home the victor at the Mercer bullring; holding off former UNOH All Star champion Chad Kemenah and western Pennsylvania veteran Rod George. It was Jacobs’ first UNOH All Star win of the 2015 season and now sits 14th in the championship chase despite a limited schedule with the traveling series.


Ryan Smith, a ‘Pennsylvania Posse’ representative who now follows the UNOH All Star tour full-time in 2015, earned the Mercer Raceway Park victory on Saturday night, July 4th. It was Smith’s second series victory of 2015 and his first since conquering action at Attica Raceway Park during the opening points night of the season. ‘The Kunkletown Kid’ out of Kunkletown, Pennsylvania held off defending series champion Dale Blaney and fellow Pennsylvania native Cody Darrah for the $5,000 triumph.


The holiday weekend came to a conclusion at the Millstream Speedway in Findlay, Ohio. For the first time since 2010, a UNOH All Star main event winner was crowned; this time Red Lion, Pennsylvania’s Cody Darrah was the check holder. It was Darrah’s second UNOH All Star victory of 2015. The former World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series ‘Rookie of the Year’ earned $5,000 for his 30-lap main event win. Darrah would lead ‘hard charging’ Sheldon Haudenschild, who rallied 17 positions to finish second, and Chad Kemenah at the checkers.


Gates are scheduled to open at noon on Saturday, July 11th at Sharon Speedway with activities for the fans to follow. To learn more about the upcoming program, please visit Sharon Speedway live on the web atwww.sharonspeedway.com.


About the All Star Circuit of Champions:

All Star Enterprises, LLC, wholly owned by Tony Stewart, d/b/a the All Star Circuit of Champions, is a winged sprint car series.  The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling 410 sprint car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing.  Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first ‘outlaw’ Sprint Car organization of the modern era. After a 10 year stint as owner of the All Stars, Miller passed control of the series to Bert Emick in 1980; a reign that would continue through 2002. Guy Webb then purchased the series from Emick in the summer of 2002 and served as the series President for the next 12 years.  Motorsports entrepreneur Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged sprint car tour in January of 2015.  The 2015 schedule includes 54 events in Ohio (29), Pennsylvania (14), Florida (5), Michigan (3), Indiana (1), New York (1) and Wisconsin (1).


Those seeking additional information regarding the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions should visit the official online home at www.allstarsprint.com. Updates and breaking news for the All Stars will be posted regularly on the official Twitter account of the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions: https://twitter.com/ASCoC