Lingering Showers, Saturated Grounds Force Postponement Of MjH Oilfield Wade Decker Memorial To Sunday, September 27; Short Track Super Series Fueled By Hi-Tek Modifieds Headline Rescheduled Program, All Divisions Return

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , ,      6 years ago     841 Views     Leave your thoughts  


[xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”]

CENTER LISLE, NY – Saturated grounds and lingering showers predicted by the National Weather Service throughout the afternoon and evening forced the postponement of the Wade Decker Memorial event slated for Sunday at Thunder Mountain Speedway.

The event will now take place on Sunday, Sept. 27 to conclude the 2015 season of racing on the Mountain.

The rescheduled Wade Decker Memorial event will be highlighted by the seventh round of the Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Hi-Tek Bob Hilbert Sportswear North Region. More than $27,000 cash will be on the line for the 50-lap big-block/small-block Modified main presented by MjH Oilfield.

A talented competitor who progressed from the Street Stocks to race in the Southern Tier and beyond in the Modified division, Wade Decker tragically lost his life on Dec. 5, 2011 in a logging accident. He was just 37 years old.

The Decker family has worked to raise money for the third running of the Wade Decker Memorial event. The first event was run in 2012 at I-88 Speedway in Afton, N.Y. Pat Ward of Genoa, N.Y., was the inaugural event winner. In 2014, the race moved to Thunder Mountain, with Andy Bachetti of Sheffield, Mass., earning a $5,000-plus payday as the victor.

For the ’15 campaign, the Wade Decker Memorial will be a Short Track Super Series-sanctioned program for the first time, offering valuable points toward the $15,000 North Region crowd to be decided at I-88 Speedway in October.

The hefty base purse rewards the race winner with $5,000. Tenth-place pays $1,000, with $400 reserved just to take the green flag. There is lap money at stake, other bonuses and contingency awards, as well.

Heat winners will take part in a Dash for Cash paying $1,000 to the winner courtesy of Hank Decker & Son Logging. The Dash finish will determine the starting order for the STSS Modified main event.

Integra Racing Shocks has signed on to sponsor the STSS Modified Hard Charger Award, offering a set of four Integra Shocks.

Lap money has been collected and will be distributed to the top-seven drivers throughout the feature. Of note, the halfway leader in the Modified ranks will take home $500 cash courtesy of Jim and Rhonda Scott.

Entering Thunder Mountain, Stewart Friesen of Sprakers, N.Y., leads the STSS Bob Hilbert Sportswear North Region point standings. Friesen has won three STSS events this year: the opener at N.Y.’s Orange County Fair Speedway, the July I-88 Speedway stop and most recently Woodhull (N.Y.) Raceway on August 11.

Completing the top-five in the point standings are Danny Johnson of Rochester, N.Y., Andy Bachetti of Sheffield, Mass., Anthony Perrego of Montgomery, N.Y., and Jeff Heotzler of Wallkill, N.Y.

The STSS visited Thunder Mountain Speedway once in ’15, back on June 29, with home-track hero Brian Malcolm of Lake Ariel, Pa., fending off Friesen to take the biggest win of his career.

Joining the STSS Modifieds during the Wade Decker Memorial are the GRIT American Series Crate 602 Sportsman ($1,000 to win), Street Stocks ($1,000 to win) and Xcel 600 Modifieds ($1,000 to win).

For the make-up event, gates will open at 2 p.m., with hot laps at 5 p.m. and racing at 6 p.m.

Admission prices remain unaltered: $20 for Adults, $18 for Seniors (ages 65 and up) and Students (ages 10-17). Kids 9 and under are FREE. Pit admission is $35, with no license required.

The complete STSS Modified pay structure is available for viewing at:

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series or BD Motorsports Media LLC, or, call 845.728.2781or e-mail  “Like” Short Track Super Series on Facebook or follow @ShortTrackSS on Twitter.

Thunder Mountain Speedway is located at 91 Hunts Corners Road Center Lisle, NY 13797, approximately 25 miles north of Binghamton. The three-eighths-mile clay oval features hillside concrete seating, free parking and camping, a variety of concession items and novelties, a family environment and more.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by Hi-Tek Race Fuel, American Racer/Lias Tire, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Pioneer Pole Buildings Inc., Scotty’s Speed & Diesel, East Coast Speed/ECS Auto, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Allstar Performance, ATL Fuel Cells, Bicknell Racing Products, COMP Performance Group (COMP Cams, Driven Racing Oil & Quarter Master), Crane Ignition, Dirt Track Digest, Fast Axle, Fox Racing Shocks, Henry’s Stainless Steel Exhaust, Hig Fab Chassis, Hyperco, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Lineman Racing, Pilat Graphic Design, Race Pro Weekly, Racers Guide, S&D Bodyline, S&W Awards, Shiley Fabrication, Simplicity Design, Teo-Pro Car, Vahlco Wheels & VP Racing Fuel.

Short Track Super Series Fueled By Hi-Tek 2015 Schedule

Bob Hilbert Sportswear North Region
Saturday, April 11 – Orange County Fair Speedway/Middletown, NY: Hard Clay Open – WINNER: STEWART FRIESEN
Tuesday, May 5 – Big Diamond Speedway/Minersville, PA (Combo): Anthracite Assault – WINNER: RICK LAUBACH
Tuesday, May 19 – Accord Speedway/Accord, NY: Battle of the Bullring 3 – WINNER: JACKIE BROWN JR.
Monday, June 29 – Thunder Mountain Speedway/Center Lisle, NY: Lightning on the Mountain – WINNER: BRIAN MALCOLM
Wednesday, July 22 – I-88 Speedway/Afton, NY: Crazy 8s Special – WINNER: STEWART FRIESEN
Tuesday, August 11 – Woodhull Raceway/Woodhull, NY: Hustlin’ the High Banks 51 – WINNER: STEWART FRIESEN
Sunday, September 27 – Thunder Mountain Speedway/Center Lisle, NY: Wade Decker Memorial
FridaySaturday October 9-10 (Rain Date: Oct. 11) – I-88 Speedway/Afton, NY: Short Track SuperNationals 8 – Championship Points

Short Track Super Series Fueled By Hi-Tek Bob Hilbert Sportswear North Region Point Fund (*based on 8 events): 1. $15,000; 2. $7,000; 3. $3,500; 4. $2,500; 5. $2,000; 6. $1,650; 7. $1,550; 8. $1,450; 9. $1,350; 10. $1,250; 11. $750; 12. $650. 

Drivers with perfect attendance outside the Top-12 receive $250.