Posted by  Racers Guide   in       1 year ago     283 Views     Comments Off on REIMERT ROCKETS TO VICTORY LANE; SIMMONS MAKE LAST LAP MOVE PAY OFF  

Harry Meeks Sr. Photo


Oley, Pa’s Louden Reimert fought hard throughout the twenty five lap Vahlco Wheels modified feature and was well rewarded when the checkered flag fell with his second win of the 2022 season. Becoming a regular at the speedway midway through the 2021 season, the young driver has been a force to deal with from night one and continues to improve with each event entered. Taking advantage of an outside front row starting position, two time track champion, Rick Laubach took charge of the event, but before one lap could be scored, the caution lights were flashing for a turn two incident involving last week’s feature winner, Justin Grosso, and Bryan Kuhl. Both drivers were able to return to the event, and much like the initial start, Laubach outran Kevin Vaclavicek for the lead with Jack Butler third and Anthony Tramontana fourth. The yellow flag was displayed on lap four as Ryan Conrad slowed on the frontstretch with mechanical problems. Butler used the restart to set up his move into second on lap six as Laubach was quickly beginning to pull away from the field. Keeping pace with the leader, Butler’s night ended abruptly as his car slowed in turn four. Unable to continue, the field prepared for the double file restart, and it was Danny Bouc now sitting to the right of Laubach waiting for the green to fall.
Up to the challenge, the Hellertown, Pa driver once again held the number one position as the race behind him was rapidly becoming a heated one. Dueling it out for second were Bouc, Brandon Grosso, and Reimert. With the trio running within inches of each other, the action slowed on lap twenty as Kuhl slowed with a flat tire. The single file restart had the front four cars tightly bunched and anxiously waiting for the drop of the green. Going into turn one on lap twenty one, Bouc and Grosso made contact with Bouc hitting the turn two guardrail with hard impact. Grosso was then clipped by Wade Hendrickson, who also contacted the guardrail ending his best run of the season. While the accident was being tended to, leader Laubach drove to the pits and was out of the race with mechanical issues. The event now found Reimert in the lead followed by Justin Grosso and John McClelland. Both drivers gave it their best effort but came up short as Reimert wheeled the Flurer Machine and Tool #16 in for the win on a night which celebrated the twenty fifth season since the Grosso’s rebuilt the old Route 539 quarter mile asphalt oval. Coming across the line in fourth was Tramontana with Chris Grbac, Paul Mancini, Frank Venezia, and Marty Resnick rounding out the cars running at the end of the race.

In the twenty five lap Hamilton Auto Clinic/Racersguide Crate feature, it was current point leader Ryan Simmons who continues to impress the crowd taking the win. It was his third win of the season as he looks to capture his first ever title. It was another wild Crate main event with several yellow flags littering the first ten laps of the feature. Through all the restarts, it was rookie David Miloszar who reigned supreme and was no doubt doing his best holding off the challenges Simmons, David Burns, and Joe Toth. A brief caution period on lap fifteen bunched up the field for the quick restart and it was Miloszar still in control answering the challenges tossed his way as the laps began to wind down. In only his first year of competition, Miloszar appeared to drift out of his groove with two laps to go. Simmons and company quickly saw the opening and prepared themselves for the final lap. Trying his best to hold off the more experienced peers, Simmons made a move going into turn three and completed it coming out of four to take the win. Toth managed to edge out Miloszar at the line with Burns fourth and Adam Buchell fifth.

Mick D’Agostino was untouchable in the twenty five lap Larry’s Hot Rods and Harleys NEWS main event, capturing his sixth feature win of the year. Ken Nealis led the first ten laps of the race, but on a lap ten restart, DiAgostino outran the Nealis #00 going into turn one and never looked back. Stan Ploski III came back from a nasty flip the week prior to nail down second with Al Cheney third, Heidi Hedin fourth, and Rich Mellor fifth.

The nonstop Wash Wagon twenty five lap feature saw Justin Dunn score win number seven on the 2022 season. Rich Page tried to track down the Trenton driver but came up short finishing second, as Joe Garey Sr., Joe Garey Jr., and Scott Dunn rounded out the top five.