Matt Sheppard Scores $2,000 as Weedsport’s Stirling Lubricants/Champion Oil Modified Series Champion

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      2 years ago     439 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Matt Sheppard Scores $2,000 as Weedsport’s Stirling Lubricants/Champion Oil Modified Series Champion

Story By: Dan Kapuscinski/Weedsport Speedway

Photos By: Matt Clemons & Mark Ranalletta/

WEEDSPORT, NY (November 15, 2019) – Matt Sheppard enjoyed another stellar campaign in 2019, including being crowned as Weedsport Speedway’s Stirling Lubricants/Champion Oil Modified Series champion, worth $2,000.

Sheppard visited Victory Hill in three of four Big Block Modified races at The Port this season, topping series runner-up Larry Wight by 25-markers in the overall standings.

Weedsport wins for Sheppard included the June 9 All-Star Showcase, as well as Super DIRTcar Series triumphs in the Hall of Fame 100 on July 28 and the Labor Day 100 on September 2.

Wight enjoyed three top five finishes in four starts at Weedsport this season to finish second overall, with Erick Rudolph taking third in the standings after Labor Day.

Rudolph stood as the only other driver to win a Big Block event at Weedsport this season, racing to a victory in the Super DIRTcar Series Heroes Remembered 100 on Memorial Day.

Chris Hile finished in the top ten in all four Weedsport events in 2019 to take fourth in the standings, followed by Billy Decker rounding out the top five.

Jimmy Phelps, Mat Williamson, Danny Johnson, Tim Sears Jr., and Peter Britten finished the top ten runners in the inaugural Stirling Lubricants/Champion Oil Modified Series.

At season’s end, a total of 62 drivers scored points in Big Block Modified action at Weedsport Speedway.

For more information on Weedsport Speedway visit online at Fans can also LIKE us on Facebook and FOLLOW on Twitter @Weedsportspdwy.

About Weedsport Speedway: Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few. In 2018, Weedsport introduced the all-new Weedsport Kartway, just outside of the Speedway’s main pit area, to begin to foster the next generation of racers, crew members and race fans. Together, Weedsport Speedway and Kartway are excited to bring fans and followers a schedule of 15 racing events in 2019, hosting everything from Karts and Sprint Cars, to Late Models and Modifieds, Pro Stocks and Micro Sprints, even Flat Track Motorcycles. Couple the racing with state-of-the-art camping and track amenities, unmatched on-site television production capabilities, plus the ability for large scale concert productions and Weedsport is one of the marquee entertainment venues in the country.