Lucas Late Models Return to Tazewell and Florence

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      4 years ago     688 Views     Comments Off on Lucas Late Models Return to Tazewell and Florence  

Lucas Late Models Return to Tazewell and Florence

Story By: Jeremy Shields/LOLMDS

Photos By: Heath Lawson/LOLMDS

BATAVIA, Ohio (June 25, 2019) – After previously being postponed due to inclement weather, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will visit Tazewell (TN) Speedway and Florence (KY) Speedway this Friday and Saturday, June 28-29.

Both blockbuster events will feature a complete program of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $12,000-to-win main event for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Tazewell Speedway, widely known for its high-banks and lightning fast speeds, produces thrilling, edge of your seat racing action, lap after lap. In addition to the pulse-pounding action of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, the Toyota Knoxville/Secret City Dodge Jeep/Ted Russell Ford 50 will also include Sportsman, Four Cylinders, and Classic Cars.

On Friday, the pit gate will open at 2:00 pm, followed by general admission gates at 5:00pm. A drivers meeting will take place at 7:15pm, with on-track action beginning at 7:45pm. Tazewell Speedway is located just two miles northwest of Tazewell, Tennessee at 1400 Bacchus Road. For additional information, visit or call (423) 626-2222.

On Saturday, the tour will trek to Florence Speedway for the first of two stops this season at the historic half-mile oval. The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will battle against a talented group of local and regional standouts in honor of the late Ralph Latham. Modifieds and Crate Late Models will also be in competition.

At Florence Speedway, the pit gate opens at 3:00pm and grandstands open at 5:30pm. A drivers meeting will also take place at 5:30pm. Hot laps are slated for 6:00pm with racing beginning at 7:30pm.

Florence Speedway is located in Northern Kentucky, approximately 25 miles south of Cincinnati, Ohio on US 42. Additional information can be obtained by visiting, or call the speedway office at (859) 493-0034.

The defending National Champion, Jonathan Davenport continues to set the pace in the current Lucas Oil championship chase, ahead of leading Rookie of the Year candidate, Tyler Erb. Earl Pearson Jr. is third, followed by Josh Richards and Devin Moran rounding out the top five in championship standings.