Posted by  Racers Guide   in       9 months ago     130 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Tommy Lane Photo


 Setting their sights high for the 2022 season, veteran campaigner Wade Hendrickson and the Michael Brother #51M, have seen their season anything but. Struggling through mechanical issues early in the season and an injury to Hendrickson saw the team absent from the speedway for five shows. 

Upon their return in late July, the team seemed refreshed and well prepared for the remainder of the season. Coming off a solid run the previous event, Hendrickson appeared to be more than ready for the final thirty lap Vahlco Wheels Modified main event Saturday night. 

With the field lined up on the front stretch, the large crowd in attendance saw the Grosso Homes #32G sitting in the number one position. Many would have thought that the soon to be crowned champion would walk away with his seventh win of the season, but the outcome of the race was quite a bit different. 

The second generation driver did kick off the event taking the lead as Ryan Conrad and Jack Butler ran second and third. Looking for his second win of the season, Butler moved into second on lap two as Hendrickson quickly showed his hand blasting into third on lap three. D J Hunt filled the number four slot with Mike Butler fifth as five laps were scored. 

Looking to score his first win of the season after numerous top five finishes, former track champion Danny Bouc was on the move cracking the top five on lap six and then moved into fourth with ten laps completed. 

With Grosso’s lead beginning to shrink, Hendrickson felt the time was right to make his move passing Butler for second on lap eleven, and then made a nice outside move to grab the lead as the field received the halfway sign. Stretching out his lead with each lap scored and maneuvering around lapped traffic it appeared as though this one was all but over. 

Bouc though had different thoughts taking over second on lap twenty one. Planning his strategy in which to catch the K&A Excavating #51M, the picture changed on lap twenty three as Conrad slowed on the backstretch bringing out the initial caution flag of the race. With Conrad’s car in the pits, the double file restart saw Hendrickson outrun Bouc to remain in the lead, but before the field could reach turn two the caution flag was waving for Bryan Kuhl who encountered frontend issues in turn four. 

Hendrickson knew he would need to be perfect again on what would be the final restart, and he was just that and more as he held off the challenges of Bouc to record the extremely popular win. Grosso finished in third and earned enough points to be crowned the champion in what was no doubt a very impressive season. 

Turning in another strong outing, John McClelland brought the Reid’s Sod Farm #44 home fourth as Jack Butler rounded out the top five. Frank Cozze crossed the line in sixth with Hunt seventh, Mike Butler eighth, Louden Reimert ninth, and Jim Housworth tenth. 

Joe Toth started the twenty lap Hamilton Auto Clinic Crate feature in the number eleven spot and patiently worked his way through the field to take the win. The victory earned him enough points to be the new points leader as the division heads into the final points race of the season next week. 

Going into the night, Ryan Simmons was the point leader, but an unfortunate flat tire on lap eight while running fourth saw his night take a decided turn for the worse. Returning to the event for the restart, a six car crash on the frontstrtetch saw his #20 severely damaged and out of further competition crediting him with a last place finish. 

George Gareis Jr lead the first nine laps of the event but gave way to Toth on lap ten. The former Crate champion was never seriously challenged over the final ten laps of the feature taking the win. Making a rare 2022 start, Bob Lineman finished second with Nick Van Wickle third, Kevin Borden fourth, and Tom Princiotta fifth. 

In the twenty lap Larry’s Hot Rods and Harleys twenty lap headliner, Brenden Hyers made it two in a row taking the lead on lap five from Stan Ploski III. The young driver never looked back and with no caution flags to slow the pace, he cruised to the checkered flag. Current point leader Mick D’Agostino finished second, newcomer Mike Thompson third, defending champ Rich Mellor fourth, and Shea Wills fifth. 

Justin Dunn not only captured his eighth win of the season but wrapped up the 2022 Wash Wagon 4 Cylinder championship. Joe Garey had his ninth top five finish of the year taking second with Scott Dunn third, Mike Fox fourth, and Robby Dunn fifth. 

The regular season wraps up with championship night for the Crates, NEWS Sprints, Street Stocks, and 4 Cylinders. Joining them will be the popular MASS 305 Sprinters. Racing begins at 6 PM.