Eckert Passes Satterlee For Ultimate Northeast Show Down On Sand Hill At Selinsgrove

Posted by  Racers Guide   in       3 years ago     559 Views     Comments Off on Eckert Passes Satterlee For Ultimate Northeast Show Down On Sand Hill At Selinsgrove  

Garrett Bard becomes first 305 sprint repeat winner, Will Brunson takes second roadrunner main

Selinsgrove, Pa. – Rick Eckert of York took the lead from Gregg Satterlee and went on to win the Ultimate Northeast Super Late Model Show Down On Sand Hill at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday night, scoring $3,000 for his second win of the season at the track.

Garrett Bard of Wells Tannery took the win in the 20-lap 305 sprint main, getting by Kyle Keen for the win while Will Brunson took the win in the 12-lap roadrunner main to close the night. 

Satterlee of Rochester Mills blasted through the middle and went three wide into the first turn with Hayes Mattern and Brett Schadel for the lead when the green flag fell in the 30-lap super late model main with Schadel emerging with control onto the backchute.

However Satterlee was fleet early and soared low under Schadel as the pair shot into the third turn to take control and bring the field back to the stripe with one lap recorded.

Meanwhile, sixth starter Eckert advanced on the first lap as well and soon drove into second with his sights on Satterlee.

Eckert took his first shot at Satterlee for the lead by diving low into the first turn on the 10th lap only to see a caution flag slow the pace seconds later as the leaders came upon a three car crash in the third and fourth turns.

Satterlee kept Eckert at bay on the restart however his run at the front would only last three more laps before he again found Eckert to his inside in the first corner.

And this time Eckert made it stick by sliding up the racetrack in front of the Satterlee to take his line away.

Satterlee then tried to come back by dropping off of the cushion in the second turn to rally back to Eckert’s inside however Eckert had the lead and he wasn’t giving it up. 

Another caution, this time for a slowed Dylan Yoder with 14 laps to go again bunched the field with Satterlee and now Andy Haus in third.

Eckert got away when action resumed only to again be slowed with nine laps to go, wiping out a 2.315 second lead over Satterlee.

Haus started testing Satterlee for second over the final distance until with one lap to go his car jumped over the cushion in the first turn before slamming into the outside rail, forcing another caution flag over the field.

A green-white-checker finish then ended the event with Eckert getting out to a 1.421 second lead at the finish over Satterlee.

Ninth starter Jeff Rine rode home third followed by Bryan Bernheisel and Jim Yoder. 

Sixth through 10th went to Matt Cosner, Dan Stone, Jim Bernheisel, Dave Brouse Jr. and Schadel.

Heats went to Schadel, Bryan Bernheisel and Eckert with Kirk Baker taking the consolation race.

Hayes Mattern set fast time over the field with a lap of 19.l493 seconds.

Kyle Keen of Carlisle drove from the pole into the lead when action began in the 20-lap 305 sprint main with Ken Duke Jr. racing second on the first lap.

But fifth starter Garrett Bard, already a one-time winner at the track this season, was up to second with two laps completed.

Riding the high line around the track, Bard motored by Keen for the lead on lap three.

Leaders Bard and Keen entered the rear of the field on the 11th tour and Keen was able to catch Bard in traffic. 

He got close enough to take a look down low in the first corner with five laps to go but Bard was up to the challenge, taking the victory by .758 seconds.

Keen finished second followed by Duke Jr., John Scarborough and Kassidy Kreitz.

Heats went to Landon Price, Kruz Kepner and Jake Frye with Dave Grube scoring the consolation race. 

Will Brunson led from start to finish in the 12-lap roadrunner feature after starting second in the field.

It was his second victory of the season at the track. 

Jake Jones started fourth and drove up to second but failed to challenge for the win. 

Seventh starter Curtis Lawton finished third followed by Nathan Romig and Terry Kramer.

Heats went to Jones and John Schreffler.

Feature Finishes, 8/15/20

Super Late Models, 30 Laps:  1) 0 Rick Eckert  2) 22 Gregg Satterlee  3) 2J Jeff Rine  4) 119B Bryan Bernheisel  5) 27 Jim Yoder  6) 66 Matt Cosner  7) 2 Dan Stone  8) 31 Jim Bernheisel  9) 14Z Dave Brouse Jr.  10) 22 Brett Schadel  11) 63 Nathan Long  12) 6 Donnie Schick  13) 10 Dave Stamm  14) 9 Hayes Mattern  15) 121 Larry Neiderer  16) 76 Andy Haus  17) 14C Bill Conrad  18) 32 Shaun Jones  19) 0G DeShawn Gingrich  20) 11 Kirk Baker  21) 74 Randy Christine  22) 46 Dan Green  23) 24 Dylan Yoder  24) 61 Ken Trevitz  25) 11 Brian Booze

DNQ: Bill Conrad, Tommy Cordell

305Sprint Cars, 20-Lap A-Main:   1) 95 Garrett Bard  2) 17K Kyle Keen  3) 67 Ken Duke  4) 61 Johnny Scarborough  5) 69K Kassidy Kreitz  6) 39X Scott Frack  7) 56 Jake Frye  8) 25 Dustin Young  9) 69 Landon Price  10) 2 Erin Statler  11) 3 Larry McVay  12)  Fred Arnold  13) 19 Kruz Kepner  14) 3D Dave Grube  15) 23 Nathan Gramley  16) 1R Christian Rumsey  17)  Nick Sweigart  18) 71 Josh Spicer  19) 55 Rick Romig  20) 23M Tom Wise  21) 86 Ron Aurand  22) 97 Kenny Heffner  23) 55 Dominic Melair  24) 8B Will Brunson 

DNQ: Craig Pellegrini, Drew Young, Andrew Jacobus, Drew Boyer, Derek Hauck, Ian Cumens


12-Lap A-Main:  1) 8 Will Brunson  2) 7 Jake Jones  3) 33 Curtis Lawton  4) 25J Nathan Romig  5) 992 Terry Romig  6) 11 Keith Bissinger  7) 0 Tom Brunson  8) 77 Scott Dunham Jr.  9) 70J John Schreffler  10) 28 Miranda Minium  11) 12 Tom Underwood  12) 8R Daren Rice  13) 60 Jimmy Kessler  14) Cory Lindenmuth  15) 56 Bill Cooper  16) 8K Jeremy Kline  17) 63 Willy Holmes