Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , , ,      3 years ago     1372 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Billy Decker, Tyler Trump, Josh Kinney And Ray Bechler Brewerton Speedway Winners



BREWERTON, NY – June 3, 2017 – On Friday night Billy Decker showed he hasn’t missed a step when it comes to the Brewerton Speedway in the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds after a season away from the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon.”

Decker started the 35 lap feature in 14th position and moved his way forward grabbing second place with 11 laps to go and then set his sights on race-long leader Jeremy Smith who built up a straightaway lead. Decker would take the lead on lap 28 and then would swap the lead back and forth for the next two laps with Smith, finally taking the lead for good on lap 30.

Other winners on Universal Metal Works and Regional Truck & Trailer night were, Tyler Trump (Sportsman) Josh Kinney (Mod Lites) Ray Bechler (4-Cylinders).

Mike Mahaney and Jeremy Smith led the Tracey Road Equipment Modified field to the green with Smith grabbing the early lead in the 35 lap feature.

On lap 2 the most serious incident of the night happened. Tim Sears Jr. and Pat Ward made racing contact exiting turn four with Sears across the track causing a wild scramble behind him. Adam Roberts, Tim Kerr, Max McLaughlin and Larry wight ended up in the front straight infield. Only Roberts and Kerr couldn’t continue as both had frontend damage.

With 10 laps complete Smith opened a full straightaway lead. Behind the leader, Mike Bowman, Tom Sears Jr., Gary Tomkins and Mahaney slugged it out for second through fifth.

At the 20 lap point Smith was still cruising out front with a large lead as Sears, Billy Decker from 14th, Tomkins and Bowman raced for top spots.

On lap 24 Decker took over second and set his sights on Smith as he looked to chip away at Smith’s big lead.

Using different lines on the Speedway Decker not only erased Smith’s lead, on lap 28 using the bottom of the speedway Decker was scored the new leader. Smith and Decker would swap the lead on lap 29 and 30 with Decker leading when the final yellow waved on lap 31. When the green came back out nobody seriously challenged Decker as he drove away for the win. Tom Sears Jr., Jeremy Smith, Gary Tomkins and Jimmy Phelps finished second through fifth.

In the 25 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Chris Cunningham would lead the opening 8 laps in a two-car breakaway with Tyler Trump. On lap 9 Trump shot to the bottom groove of the track to drive by Cunningham to be scored the new leader.

With 10 laps to go Trump held a slim few car-length advantage while Stephen Denton, Cunningham, Glenn Forward and point leader Alan Fink had a close battle for top five spots.

Even with late yellows to close the field up, nobody had anything for Trump as he cruised first under the checkers. Glenn Forward, Stephen Denton, Kevin Root and Alan Fink finished second through fifth.

The race of the night was in the Firehouse Subs Mod Lite 20 lap feature where Mike Mullen and Josh Kinney would battle it out, swapping the lead back and forth. Over the second half of the race it was a battle royal that you could have thrown a blanket over the top four and five cars with the winner in doubt until the checkers. Josh Kinney took the win by a narrow (0.045) over Mike Mullen. Justin Williams (0.164) Zack Babcock (0.360) and Brian Meyers (1.430) finished a close third through fifth.

In the 15 lap JB Logging & Firewood 4 Cylinder feature, defending track champion Ray Bechler would take the lead on lap 4 and never look back for his first win of the season. Chuck Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis, Chris Bonoffski and Nate Powers brought home top five finishes.

In the One-on-One Spectator races 17 cars signed up. When it was all over a familiar face showed up in victory lane as Chris Rombough out of Fulton, NY took home the top spot.

This Friday, June 9 Xtreme Auto Recovery presents fan favorite Family Autograph Night. Fans will be able to go trackside to get up close to all the cars and stars of the Brewerton Speedway for autographs, photos and driver giveaways.

The racing program will have the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders.

Adult grandstand admission is $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger FREE. Pit admission is $27 participant, $30 non-participant. Gates open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities please contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or . For the latest news visit  . Like the track Facebook page .

Universal Metal Works & Regional Truck and Trailer June 2 Results.

 (Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – BILLY DECKER, Tom Sears Jr., Jeremy Smith, Gary Tomkins, Jimmy Phelps, Pat Ward, Larry Wight, Mike Bowman, Tim Sears Jr., Matt Hulsizer, Mike Mahaney, Chris Hile, Rob Bellinger, Chad Phelps, Lee Gill, Andrew Ferguson, Rich Scagliotta, Jeff Blackburn, Max McLaughlin, Jim Witko Jr., Adam Roberts, Tim Kerr, Ryan Bartlett, DNS-Joe August Jr.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) – TYLER TRUMP, Glenn Forward, Stephen Denton, Kevin Root, Alan Fink, Tyler Thompson, Chris Cunningham, Brent Joy, Zach Sobotka, Earl Rudy, Todd Root, Kyle Fink, Rocco Leone, Jackson Gill, Ricky Yelle, Jeff Taylor, Nick Krause, Darren Smith, Mike Stanton Jr., Joe Sobotka, Rich Townsend, Patrick LaPage, JJ Courcy, Ron Davis III.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JOSH KINNEY, Mike Mullen, Justin Williams, Zack Babcock, Brian Meyers, Casey Sykes, Lowell Zehr, Ryan Halliday, Jeff Sykes, Mike LaRose, Sam Usborne, Joe Garafolo, Dave Brown, Kelly Skinner, Jim Dunham, Tom Perkins.

(JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – RAY BECHLER, Chuck Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis, Chris Bonoffski, Nate Powers, Sam Curcie, Joe Buske Jr., Stephanie Seeley, Mark Wallace, Michael Perry Jr., Jamie Radley, DNS – Shawn Hort, Dylan Curcie.

(One-on-One Spectator) – Chris Rombough.