Wayne Johnson Set for Oklahoma Homecoming at Salina Highbanks

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      6 years ago     986 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Wayne Johnson Set for Oklahoma Homecoming at Salina Highbanks1200x800-nM62cIoK34hSx267127

TULSA, Okla. (June 2, 2015) To look at the history of visits by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real to the Salina Highbanks in Salina, Okla. Wayne Johnson stands as the leading winner in National Tour competition.

A bit of a homecoming for the Oklahoma City native, Johnson enters the weekend fifth in National Tour standings.

Asked what winning at the Highbanks means being so close to home, Johnson replied, “It means a lot you know. A lot of friends and family get to come to these kind of races when we’re close to Oklahoma City, and even Devil’s Bowl, so it means a lot to win races down in this area, since we don’t get to race there very much, plus I grew up racing Salina, Okla. so I actually have a lot more wins in other competition like NCRA, but it definitely ranks up there with my favorite tracks.”

Having changed chassis a little over a month ago, Johnson already has a feature win at the Knoxville Raceway, but is still picking through the setup to find more speed.

“I feel pretty good going into this weekend,” commented Johnson. “Our car’s been a little bit of a handful these past couple races, as far as getting where we need to be. We’ve just been really tight but we learned some stuff at Belleville, Kan. this past Sunday in the closing laps and I think we can take that into this weekend and hopefully get it rolling.”

While Johnson seeks his fourth career Lucas Oil ASCS victory at the Salina Highbanks Speedway, he’ll have plenty of competition as Aaron Reutzel leads the charge into this Saturday’s event.

Coming off a runner-up finish at the Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kan. the Clute, Texas driver has already claimed six victories in 2015, including a pair with the Lucas Oil ASCS.

Sitting 55 marker ahead of Johnny Herrera, the Salina Highbanks is a favorite of Herrera, who finished runner up in the series last visit on August 16, 2014. Fresh off a victory this past Saturday at the Eagle Raceway, Washington’s Seth Bergman currently rides third in tour standings with Jeff Swindell climbing to fourth.

Tony Bruce, Jr. currently sits sixth with Matt Covington seventh. Brodix Rookie of the Year leader, Kyle Bellm, is eighth with 2014 Rookie of the Year, Blake Hahn, ninth. Tennessee’s Brandon Hanks posted his best finish of the year this past Saturday to jump to 12th in tour standings with Kris Miller 13th and Jordan Weaver 14th.

Saturday, June 6 at the Salina Speedway opens at 5:00 P.M. with racing at 7:00 P.M. (CT) and includes USRA Modifieds. A celebrity race will be held during intermission, featuring Bud and Broadway among other local radio personalities. The pair will also be present for a live remote from 3:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M. (CT). Fans can tune into The Twister, 106.1 FM, to hear the pair’s antics.

For more information on the Salina Highbanks Speedway, log onto http://salinahighbanksspeedway.com or call (918) 434-RACE (7223).

Updates on the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real can be found at http://www.ascsracing.com.

Need To Know Info:

When: Saturday, June 6, 2015
Where: Salina Highbanks Speedway – Salina, Okla.
Times: Gates Open at 5:00 P.M. / Racing at 7:00P.M. (CT)
What: Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour
Tickets: Tickets are sold the day of the race.

Location: 3164 East HWY 20. Pryor, OK 74361
Website: http://www.salinahighbanksspeedway.com
Phone: (918) 434-RACE (7223)
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Salina-Highbanks-Speedway/126810787377214?fref=ts

Lucas Oil ASCS History: Salina Highbanks Speedway

Date – Winner

5/9/98—Paul White
5/15/99—Tim Crawley
7/27/99—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
7/19/00—Gary Wright (Speedweek)
5/5/01—Wayne Johnson
7/17/01—Wayne Johnson (Speedweek)
4/27/12—Wayne Johnson
6/22/12—Jason Johnson
8/24/12—Jason Johnson
8/27/13—Jeff Swindell
8/16/14—Sam Hafertepe, Jr.

Season So Far:

2015 Lucas Oil ASCS Winners: Aaron Reutzel 2; Seth Bergman 2; Jason Sides 1; Mark Smith 1; Brian Brown 1;

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Points (Top 10): 1. Aaron Reutzel 921; 2. Johnny Herrera 866; 3. Seth Bergman 848; 4. Jeff Swindell 776; 5. Wayne Johnson 769; 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 755; 7. Matt Covington 718; 8. Kyle Bellm 648; 9. Blake Hahn 634; 10. Mark Smith 562;

The 2015 season will mark the 24th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation in both National and Regional competition.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series – http://www.ascsracing.com
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs
Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast – http://www.racinboys.com
Live Scoring (Where Applicable) – http://www.ascsracing.com/live and the Race Monitor App

ASCS National Drivers Online:

Kyle Bellm – http://www.kylebellm.com
Seth Bergman – http://www.sethbergmanracing.com
Tony Bruce, Jr. – http://www.tonybrucejr.com
Matt Covington – http://www.mattcovingtonracing.com
Blake Hahn – http://www.blakehahnracing.com
Sam Hafertepe, Jr. – http://www.sam15.com
Johnny Herrera – http://www.johnnyherreraracing.com
Wayne Johnson – https://www.facebook.com/WayneJohnsonRacing?fref=ts
Aaron Reutzel – http://www.aaronreutzelracing.com
Jeff Swindell – http://www.jeffswindell.com
Jordan Weaver – https://www.facebook.com/JordanWeaverRacing92

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Communications for the American Sprint Car Series is provided by Racing Electronics. All events are broadcast online at http://www.racinboys.com.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, Fuel Safe, DMI Rear Ends, BMRS, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection.