Tim Kerr Holds Off Chris Hile And Pat Ward for Popular Brewerton Speedway Modified Win

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , ,      1 year ago     286 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Tim Kerr Holds Off Chris Hile And Pat Ward for Popular Brewerton Speedway Modified Win

Story By: Dave Medler/Brewerton Speedway

Photos By: Mike Johnson/RacersGuide.com

BREWERTON, NY – Tim Kerr from Picton, Ontario, Canada took advantage of a front row starting spot, leading every lap in the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified feature Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway.

The win was anything but easy for Kerr as he had to hold off a hard-charging Chris Hile and Pat Ward over the last 10 laps for his first win since August 2016 at the ‘D-Shaped Dirt Demon.’

Other winners on Mirabito night were, Alan Fink & Kevin Root (SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman) Zack Babcock (STARS Mod Lites) Evan Wright (JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders) Ray Bechler (JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinder Track Champion).

Rob Bellinger and Tim Kerr brought the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modified field down to the green flag with Kerr grabbing the narrow advantage in the 35-lap feature.

The yellow flag would wave on lap 6 when three competitors made racing contact sending Max McLaughlin to the pits where his team made a quick right front shock change and rejoined the race at the back of the field.

At the 10-lap mark Kerr held a half-a-straight advantage over Chris Hile who chased in second with Andrew Ferguson, Tim Sears Jr. and Pat Ward showed in the top-five.

When the race reached the halfway point, Kerr and Hile were in a two-car breakaway at the front of the field. Sears, Ward, and Ferguson were still locked in a tight battle for third through fifth.

With 10 laps remaining Kerr still led but he was soon to have company as Hile and Ward were rapidly catching the leader as the final laps started clicking off the lap counter.

Over the remaining laps, Tim Kerr battled traffic and everything Chris Hile and Pat Ward threw at him, picking up his popular first win of 2018 at the Brewerton Speedway. Tim Sears Jr.and Larry Wight finished fourth and fifth.

In the first 25-lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Tyler Corcoran would lead the opening 3 laps when Billy Clark Jr. would sneak underneath Corcoran on lap 4 to be scored the new leader.

A yellow on lap 7 would erase the over one-second lead Clark had. On the restart Alan Fink used the momentum he built up on the top side of the speedway to grab the top-spot.

With 10 laps showing on the scoring tower Fink held a comfortable 10 car-length lead while behind him second through seventh was tight and just inches apart using every groove on the speedway.

A yellow on lap 14 would erase the full straightaway lead Fink held giving the rest of the field one last shot at him for the win.

With 5 laps to go Fink once again opened a sizable lead over Clark who ran alone in second. Earl Rudy, Zach Sobotka and Joe Kline were in a close fight for third through fifth.

Over the final laps and no yellows to slow the field down Alan Fink drove away for his third Brewerton win of the season. Billy Clark Jr., Earl Rudy, Zach Sobotka and Joe Kline finished second through fifth.

In the second 25-lap SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman feature Joe Sobotka would lead the first 3 laps before Amy Holland found the speed she needed on the bottom groove to drive into the lead.

With 10 laps showing on the scoring tower Holland held a slim lead over points leader Kevin Root who was using the top side of the speedway looking for a way around Holland. Chris Mackey, Brent Joy and Will Shields showed in the top-five on the scoring tower.

After working on a way to get by Holland lap after lap, Root found the speed he needed on lap 12 to drive by Holland to be scored the new leader.

With 10 laps go Root put some distance between himself and Holland and Mackey who ran side-by-side for second and third with Shields and Joy in fourth and fifth.

Over the final laps not only did Kevin Root lengthen his point lead going into the Championship night August 31, he picked up his first Brewerton Speedway feature win. Chris Mackey, Amy Holland, Will Shields and Brent Joy finished second through fifth.

In the 20-lap STARS Mod Lite feature Tucker Halliday would lead the opening 9 laps before Zack Babcock, who was the only one in a tight top-five battle that was fast using the outside groove, shot into the lead.

The rest of the way the only thing that slowed Babcock down was a quick caution on lap 13 that would give the field one last shot at Babcock to steal the win away.

When the green came back out until the checkers there was no slowing down Zack Babcock as he cruised to his first feature win of the year. Justin Williams, Doug Williams, Tucker Halliday and Joe Garafolo finished second through fifth.

It was Championship night in the JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders.

In the 15-lap feature Evan Wright who started 9th had the lead by the second lap. Once out front nobody seriously challenged Wright who cruised to his third win of the year at the speedway.

Coming into the night Ray Bechler and Chuck Powelczyk were tied in the point standings to decide the 2018 Track Champion. Powelczyk hounded Bechler the entire distance but Ray Bechler never made a mistake, finishing second and with it the track title. Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis and Nate Powers finished third through fifth.

This Friday, August 31, 87 Speed will present Championship Night for the Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds, SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman and STARS Mod Lites. The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints will also do battle on the ‘D-Shaped Dirt Demon’ making a huge, must-see Labor Day Weekend show.

Adult grandstand admission is $15 with everyone 18 years old and younger free. Pit is $35. Pit will be open until 3:30 pm, grandstands 5:30 pm with racing at 7:30 pm.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities please contact Cory Reed (315) 668-6906 or cory@brewertonspeedway.com. For all the latest news go to www.brewertonspeedway.com . Like the track Facebook page www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway .

August 24th Mirabito & VP Small Engine Fuels Night Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) – TIM KERR, Chris Hile, Pat Ward, Tim Sears Jr., Larry Wight, Andrew Ferguson, Tom Sears Jr., Jimmy Phelps, Rob Bellinger, Billy Decker, Max McLaughlin, Peter Britten, Gary Tomkins, Willy Decker, Jim Witko, Chad Phelps, Brandon Walters, Tim Harris.

(SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman #1 25 Laps)- ALAN FINK, Billy Clark Jr., Earl Rudy, Zach Sobotka, Joe Kline, Stephen Denton, Chris Cunningham, Dylan Zacharias, Willy Decker Jr., Tyler Corcoran, Colby Herzog, John Strickler, Robert Gage, Jake Petit, Tyler Murray, Chris Bonoffski, Nick Krause, Rich Townsend.

(SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman #2 25 Laps) – KEVIN ROOT, Chris Mackey, Amy Holland, Will Shields, Brent Joy, Corey Barker, Mark Yorker, Mike Stanton Jr., Joe Sobotka, Jeff Taylor, Charlie Tibbitts, Sean Beardsley, Rick Miller, Bailey Groves, Joey Buonagurio, Mike Fowler, Casey Cunningham, Rick Rogala.

(Behron Autoglass Sportsman Feature Winner Dash) – $150 – Alan Fink, $50 – Kevin Root.

(STARS Mod Lites 20 Laps) – ZACK BABCOCK, Justin Williams, Doug Williams, Tucker Halliday, Joe Garafolo, Dave Brown, Ryan Halliday, Tom Perkins, Hunter Lawton, Kelly Skinner, Shawn Hort, DNS- Jim Dunham.

(JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – EVAN WRIGHT, Ray Bechler, Chuck Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis, Nate Powers, Justin LaDue, Damien Bechler, Jerry Curcie, Adam Gates, Sam Curcie, Dylan Curcie, Sabrina Jeffries, Clayton Koch, Connor Lowrie, Dan Dupra, Kyle Young, Chris Bonoffski, Phil Burns, Glenn Carista.

(2018 JB Logging & Firewood Track Champion) – Ray Bechler.