Lucas Oil ASCS Set for Wyoming Debut at the Gillette Thunder Speedway

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      3 years ago     367 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Lucas Oil ASCS Set for Wyoming Debut at the Gillette Thunder Speedway1200x800-wN69pPeG52qKoYx276621

TULSA, Okla. (July 20, 2015) With the road signs now facing east, the 25th Arnold Motors Supply Knoxville Nationals is within sight, but before black Iowa clay can be seen, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network sets course for new ground as the National Tour debuts at the Gillette Thunder Speedway in Gillette, Wy. this coming Wednesday, July 22.

A semi-banked, three-eighths mile oval located just east of Gillette, ASCS Regional competition with the former Rocky Mountain Region dotted the yearly lineup with the last ASCS sanctioned event held on August 29, 2009 with Ned Powers parking in Victory Lane.

That’s not to say that currently Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour drivers have not seen action at the Wyoming oval, as an open event held in 2014 attracted Aaron Reutzel and Matt Covington with the T&L Foundry No. 95 of Covington picking up the win. Reutzel had led early on before mechanical failure sent the B.C. Funds No. 87 to the pits.

The 29th state to see action with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour, Aaron Reutzel leads the charge into the mid-week affair, carrying a weekend win at the Electric City Speedway and runner-up at the Billings Motorsports Park into the Gillette Thunder Speedway.

Keeping the No. 87 at bay during the closing laps of Saturday’s feature at the BMP Speedway, Johnny Herrera holds the runner-up spot in National Tour standings. On a streak at the moment, Herrera’s MVT No. 45x has not finished outside the top-five in the series last five outings, a streak which includes two wins.

Hard charging after being forced to the tail for visiting the work area on Saturday night, Seth Bergman holds third in tour standings with Wayne Johnson coming off a podium run this past Saturday holding fourth. Matt Covington currently holds the fifth position.

For fans of the Gillette Thunder Speedway, a recent cancellation of the World of Outlaw Late Models due to Mother Nature will see tickets purchased for the event honored at this Wednesday’s Lucas Oil ASCS debut. As there is a price difference between the two events, fans who present their WoO Late Model ticket at the front gate will receive a $5 refund as the price for admission on July 22 is only $25. Children ages six and under will be admitted free into the grandstands.

Tickets can be purchased the day of the race at the track.

For continued updates on the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, log onto

Need to Know Info:

When: Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Where: Gillette Thunder Speedway – Gillette, Wyoming
What: Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network
Times: Gates open at 6:00 P.M. / Racing at 7:00 P.M. (MT)

Phone: (307) 689-1287
Social Media:

Location: 5801, 7999 WY-51, Gillette, WY 82718
Directions: From I-90, take Exit 128 to Hwy 51. Head east roughly 3 miles. Track is located on the south side of the road. (Coordinates if using Google Maps: 44.281034, -105.411587)


2015 Lucas Oil ASCS Winners: Aaron Reutzel 4; Seth Bergman 3; Jason Solwold 3; Johnny Herrera 2; Jason Sides 1; Mark Smith 1; Brian Brown 1; Blake Hahn 1; Wayne Johnson 1; Tony Bruce, Jr. 1;

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Points (Top 10): 1. Aaron Reutzel 2,285; 2. Johnny Herrera 2,211; 3. Seth Bergman 2,170; 4. Wayne Johnson 2,130; 5. Matt Covington 1,850; 6. Blake Hahn 1,762; 7. Kyle Bellm 1,716; 8. Jordan Weaver 1,576; 9. Jeff Swindell 1,263; 10. Kris Miller 1,247;


The 2015 season will mark the 24th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation in both National and Regional competition.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series –
Facebook –
Twitter – (@lucasoilascs)
Audio Broadcast –
Live Scoring (Where Applicable) – and the Race Monitor App

ASCS National Drivers Online:

Kyle Bellm –
Seth Bergman –
Tony Bruce, Jr. –
Matt Covington –
Blake Hahn –
Sam Hafertepe, Jr. –
Johnny Herrera –
Wayne Johnson –
Aaron Reutzel –
Jeff Swindell –
Jordan Weaver –

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Communications for the American Sprint Car Series is provided by Racing Electronics. All events are broadcast online at

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, KSE Racing Products, Fuel Safe, DMI Rear Ends, BMRS, SpeedMart, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection.

CORRECT CODE IS: [xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”]

CORRECT CODE IS: [xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”]