Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , ,      8 months ago     1397 Views     Leave your thoughts  


Story By: Mike Wisniewski/New Egypt Speedway

Photos By: Ted Malinowski/

New Egypt, NJ (June 28, 2018) – At New Egypt Speedway’s Garden State
Gunfight 2, David VanHorn scored the win in the Modified feature to take the
top prize of $6,000. Cale Ross topped the field in the Crate Modifieds vs.
Open Sportsman contest.

As the green flag waved in the 60-lap Modified feature, Frank Cozze fired to
the front of the field with Duane Howard, Matt Stangle, Kevin Vaclavicek and
Jim Britt next in line. With four laps completed and after a few cautions,
Cozze was still setting the pace with David VanHorn in second, Danny Bouc in
third and Howard slipping back to fourth. On the sixth circuit, a multi-car
tangle in the fourth turn caused the racing action to stop. On the ensuing
restart, VanHorn shot his way past Cozze and into the lead with Bouc,
Howard, and seventeenth place starting Ryan Krachun in tow. VanHorn quickly
began to speed away from his foes. By the fifteenth circuit, VanHorn had a
very comfortable advantage and was approaching the back of the field. Four
tours later, VanHorn’s large lead evaporated as John McClelland’s ride
slowed on the track and stopped in turn one. When racing resumed, VanHorn
repelled Cozze’s attempt to regain the top running spot with Howard zipping
by Bouc for third and Ryan Godown passing Krachun for fifth. Once again,
VanHorn began to distance himself from the field. When the caution waved for
the fuel stop at the halfway point, VanHorn’s edge was a full straightaway
over Cozze. As the green flag waved following the mid-race stop for
refueling, VanHorn outdueled Cozze to keep his lead with Bouc retaking third
place from Howard. With twenty laps left in the feature, VanHorn had built a
comfortable advantage over the pack. His lead continued to increase as he
was beginning to approach lap traffic in the final ten circuits. On lap
fifty-six, fifth place running Ryan Godown slowed down and the yellow lights
illuminated for the final time. On the single file restart, VanHorn held off
Cozze. Over the final revolutions, VanHorn was not challenged and crossed
the finish line to claim his first win of the year and the sixth in his
career at New Egypt Speedway. Cozze’s strong run netted him second place.
Bouc finished in third with Howard claiming fourth. Thirteenth place
starting Brandon Grosso completed the race in fifth. Mike Mahaney, Matt
Stangle and John McClelland were victorious in the Modified heat races. The
consolation contest was taken by Brian Papiez.

In the 30-lap Crate Modified vs. Open Sportsman feature, Cale Ross led from
start to finish to claim his second career checkered flag. Billy Osmun, who
started in seventh, chased Ross throughout the event and finished in second
place. Louden Reimert was rewarded with third place following an impressive
effort. Fourth went to Joe Toth and Pat Wall came home in fifth. The winners
in the qualifying events were Shaun Ratchford, Louden Reimert and Bill
Liedtka. Will Dupree won the consolation race.

New Egypt Speedway rolls back into action on Saturday, June 30 with
Throwback Night. Adult admission to the grandstand on this special night
will only be $10 and hot dogs will only be $1. The racing schedule will see
the Modifieds, the 30-lap Mr. Crate Classic for the Crate Modifieds, Larry’s
Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Street Stocks &
4-Cylinders in competition. On Saturday, June 30, the pit gates unlock at
4:00 p.m. with the grandstand ticket windows opening at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps
get underway at 6:00 p.m. and the first race begins at 7:00 p.m. Admission
to the grandstand is $10 for adults, $10 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for
teens 12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids
11 & under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license
and $40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great
Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval,
New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best
competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature
daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the
house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear,
and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from
Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on
Facebook at, or follow us on
Twitter @nesspeedway.


Heat 1 – 1. Mike Mahaney 2. Frank Cozze 3. David VanHorn 4. Jim Britt 5.
Brandon Grosso 6. Brett Kressley

Heat 2 – 1. Matt Stangle 2. Ryan Godown 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Blaine Bracelin 5.
Dominick Buffalino 6. Ryan Krachun

Heat 3 – 1. John McClelland 2. Kevin Vaclavicek 3. Duane Howard 4. Danny
Bouc 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Mike Gular

Consolation – 1. Brian Papiez 2. Davey Sammons 3. PJ Oliver 4. Rich Rutski
5. Dillon Steuer 6. Billy Pauch, Jr.

DNQ: JR Fulper, Jack Swain, Rocco Infante, Steve Davis, Dakota Kessler

1. DAVID VANHORN 2. Frank Cozze 3. Danny Bouc 4. Duane Howard 5. Brandon
Grosso 6. Mike Gular 7. Matt Stangle 8. PJ Oliver 9. Ryan Krachun 10. Jimmy
Horton 11. Kevin Vaclavicek 12. Jim Britt 13. Ryan Godown 14. Mike Mahaney
15. Blaine Bracelin 16. John McClelland 17. Brett Kressley 18. Brian Papiez
19. Bryan Kuhl 20. Rich Rutski 21. Dillon Steuer 22. Dominick Buffalino 23.
Davey Sammons 24. Billy Pauch, Jr.
Crate Modifieds vs Open Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. Shaun Ratchford 2. David Burns 3. Joe Toth 4. Kyle Kania 5. Paul
Hartwig 6. Ryan Simmons

Heat 2 – 1. Louden Reimert 2. Eric Palmer 3. Pat Wall 4. Aaron Weaver 5.
Jimmy Amato 6. Tom Princiotta

Heat 3 – 1. Bill Liedtka 2. George Gareis, Jr. 3. Billy Osmun 4. Cale Ross
5. Sammy Martz, Jr. 6. Art Liedl

Consolation – 1. Will Dupree 2. Mickey Kessler 3. Jeremy Martino 4. Marty
Resnick 5. Steve Hicks 6. Dan Fleming

DNQ: Jason Kosch, Steve Desmelyk, Kevin Borden, Jr. Glenn McIntyre, Johnny
Bangs, John Criscione, John Aumick, Bob Lineman, Jr.

1. CALE ROSS 2. Billy Osmun 3. Louden Reimert 4. Joe Toth 5. Pat Wall 6.
Jimmy Amato 7. Bill Liedtka 8. Ryan Simmons 9. David Burns 10. Sammy Martz,
Jr. 11. Marty Resnick 12. Will Dupree 13. Mickey Kessler 14. Art Liedl 15.
Paul Hartwig 16. Kyle Kania 17. Dan Fleming 18. Shaun Ratchford 19. Aaron
Weaver 20. Tom Princiotta 21. Jeremy Martino 22. Eric Palmer 23. George
Gareis, Jr. 24. Steve Hicks