Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      3 years ago     1000 Views     Leave your thoughts  


Story By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Photos By: Dan DeMarco/RacersGuide.com

Ventura, California (November 19, 2019)………The driver lineup for the Nov. 28th Turkey Night Grand Prix at California’s Ventura Raceway has surged above 70 entrants for the 79th running of the famed event featuring the USAC NOS Energy Drink National and Western States Midgets.

The car count hasn’t exceeded 70 since 1992, and this year’s class of entries is not only stocked with quantity, but immense quality.

The lone past Turkey Night Midget winner in the field is 2012 and 2016 victor Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, Calif.). He’s joined by a slew of USAC National champions who have filed their entries, including Tyler Courtney (Indianapolis, Ind.), Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.), Spencer Bayston (Lebanon, Ind.), Jerry Coons, Jr. (Tucson, Ariz.), Logan Seavey (Sutter, Calif.), Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Okla.) and Rico Abreu (St. Helena, Calif.).

In addition to that bunch, a number of recent winners on the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget and AMSOIL National Sprint Car trails are gunning for glory at Ventura: Cannon McIntosh (Bixby, Okla.), Kevin Thomas, Jr. (Cullman, Ala.), Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.), Thomas Meseraull (San Jose, Calif.), Zeb Wise (Angola, Ind.), Tanner Carrick (Lincoln, Calif.) and Jason McDougal (Broken Arrow, Okla.).

Shane Golobic (Fremont, Calif.), Carson Macedo (Lemoore, Calif.), Gio Scelzi (Fresno, Calif.) and Aaron Reutzel (Clute, Texas) have all won on the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series campaign in 2019.

Leading the USAC Western contingent in the event are newly-crowned eight-time USAC/CRA Sprint Car champion Damion Gardner (Concord, Calif.), Western States Midget point leader Robert Dalby (Anaheim, Calif.), plus 2019 series winners Ben Worth (Coalinga, Calif.), Chase Johnson (Penngrove, Calif.), Robby Josett (Santa Clarita, Calif.) and Maria Cofer (Macdoel, Calif.) as well as USAC Western Regional champions Ronnie Gardner (Riverside, Calif.), David Prickett (Fresno, Calif.), Jake Swanson (Anaheim, Calif.), Ryan Bernal (Hollister, Calif.) and Austin Liggett (Tracy, Calif.).

Thirteen states are represented with Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington and Wyoming presenting drivers. Three different countries are represented with Michael Pickens (New Zealand) and Kaidon Brown (Australia) making the trip to the states for the event.

USAC Midget practice and USAC West Coast/VRA Sprint Cars will kick off the Turkey Night festivities on Wednesday, November 27 and conclude Thursday night, November 28 with the finales for the West Coast/VRA Sprints and the 98-lap main event for the midgets.

Advance tickets for the 79th Running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix are available online through www.venturaraceway.com or by calling 805.648.7223. Ventura Raceway is located on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 West Harbor Blvd. in Ventura, California.

(Updated November 19, 2019)
07x Troy Morris III/Bakersfield, CA (Trinity Motorsports)
08 Cannon McIntosh/Bixby, OK (Dave Mac Motorsports)
08m Ethan Mitchell/Mooresville, NC (Dave Mac Motorsports)
1 Karsyn Elledge/Mooresville, NC (Tucker-Boat Motorsports)
1K Kyle Larson/Elk Grove, CA (Kyle Larson Open Wheel)
1NP Terry Nichols/Delano, CA (NP Motorsports)
1NZ Michael Pickens/Auckland, NZ (RMS LLC)
1p Audra Sasselli/Selma, CA (NP Motorsports)
1x Johnathon Henry/Stockton, CA (LKK Racing)
3F TBA (Ted Finkenbinder)
4 Damion Gardner/Concord, CA (Klatt Enterprises)
4A Justin Grant/Ione, CA (RAMS Racing)
4D Robert Dalby/Anaheim, CA (Ken Dalby)
5 Kevin Thomas, Jr./Cullman, AL (Petry Motorsports)
F5 Troy Rutherford/Ojai, CA (Wayne Simmons)
5G Ben Worth/Coalinga, CA (Dean Alexander)
7BC Tyler Courtney/Indianapolis, IN (Clauson-Marshall Racing)
7x Thomas Meseraull/San Jose, CA (RMS LLC)
8 Randi Pankratz/Atascadero, CA (Wally Pankratz)
9 Daison Pursley/Locust Grove, OK (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
9H Emilio Hoover/Broken Arrow, OK (James Hoover)
11E Cory Elliott/Bakersfield, CA (Mitch Elliott)
15 Ron Hazelton/Chatsworth, CA (Ron Hazelton)
15DJ David Prickett/Fresno, CA (Neverlift Motorsports)
15x Carson Garrett/Littleton, CO (Broc Garrett)
17BC Chris Windom/Canton, IL (Clauson-Marshall Racing)
17w Shane Golobic/Fremont, CA (Matt Wood Racing)
19 Spencer Bayston/Lebanon, IN (Brodie Hayward)
19w Jake Morgan/Fair Oaks, CA (Mike Sala)
20 C.J. Sarna/Palm Desert, CA (C.J. Sarna)
20AZ Shon Deskins/Waddell, AZ (Shon Deskins Racing)
21 Carson Macedo/Lemoore, CA (Tarlton Motorsports)
25 Jerry Coons, Jr./Tucson, AZ (Petry Motorsports)
25x Chase Johnson/Penngrove, CA (Tom Malloy)
27 Tucker Klaasmeyer/Paola, KS (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
27B Jake Bubak/Arvada, CO (Patrick Bourke)
c27 Clint Wilson/Paradise, CA (Mounce Motorsports)
27w Colby Copeland/Roseville, CA (Matt Wood Racing)
31B Kyle Beilman/Mar Vista, CA (Beilman Motorsports)
33p Mike Leach, Jr./Orange, CA (Mike Leach, Sr.)
39BC Zeb Wise/Angola, IN (Clauson-Marshall Racing)
47BC Andrew Layser/Collegeville, PA (Clauson-Marshall Racing)
55 Nick Drake/Mooresville, NC (Troy Cline)
55T Tony Everhart/El Cajon, CA (Tony Everhart)
56x Mark Chisholm/Cheyenne, WY (Mark Chisholm)
57 Michael Faccinto/Hanford, CA (Johnny Cofer)
57D Daniel Robinson/Ewing, IL (McCreery Motorsports)
63 Frankie Guerrini/San Rafael, CA (Frank Guerrini)
67 Logan Seavey/Sutter, CA (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
67K Holley Hollan/Broken Arrow, OK (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
67x Britton Bock/Fresno, CA (Mike Bock)
68 Ronnie Gardner/Riverside, CA (Six8 Motorsports)
71 Jesse Colwell/Red Bluff, CA (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
71D Bryan Drollinger/San Pedro, CA (Drollinger Bros. Racing)
71K Tanner Carrick/Lincoln, CA (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
71s Maria Cofer/Macdoel, CA (Marcie Campbell)
73 Dylan Ito/Ventura, CA (Keith Ford)
73K Jake Swanson/Anaheim, CA (Keith Ford)
73T Brady Bacon/Broken Arrow, OK (Keith Ford)
73x Robby Josett/Santa Clarita, CA (Keith Ford)
76m Jason McDougal/Broken Arrow, OK (FMR Racing)
77w Ryan Bernal/Hollister, CA (Matt Wood Racing)
78 Marvin Mitchell/Madera, CA (Marvin Mitchell)
81 Dillon Welch/Carmel, IN (Tucker-Boat Motorsports)
83 Austin Liggett/Tracy, CA (Mona Liggett)
84 Gio Scelzi/Fresno, CA (Tucker-Boat Motorsports)
85 Aaron Reutzel/Clute, TX (Tucker-Boat Motorsports)
91 Chris Sheil/Aurora, CO (Cappy Mason)
97 Rico Abreu/St. Helena, CA (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
97w Kaidon Brown/Sydney, AU (Matt Wood Racing)
98 Buddy Kofoid/Penngrove, CA (Keith Kunz-Curb-Agajanian)
99 Colton Heath/Marysville, WA (Carla & Gaylon Stewart)