Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , ,      9 months ago     251 Views     Leave your thoughts  


Story By: Mike Wisniewski/New Egypt Speedway

Photos By: Ted Malinowski & Harry Meeks/

New Egypt, NJ (July 15, 2018) – At New Egypt Speedway’s Premio Foods Little
League Night, Rich Rutski rolled to his second Modified feature win of the
year. The Hammer Sportsman feature was taken by Billy Osmun. Bill Liedtka
won the Street Stock main event while Joe Garey Sr. was the victor in the
4-Cylinder race.

After the original start was marred by a multi-car tangle in turn one, the
30-lap Modified feature began with polesitter Rich Rutski grabbing the lead
and Steve Davis running in second. Following a caution period on the third
circuit, Davis sped past Rutski on the restart to gain first place. After a
trio of cautions on lap five, Davis was still on top with Rutski and Brian
Papiez next in line. Over the next few tours, Rutski began to track down
Davis and returned to the lead with ten laps completed. By the halfway
point, Rutski had established a comfortable margin over Davis with Billy
Pauch Jr. in third, Papiez in fourth and Danny Bouc in fifth. With ten laps
remaining, Rutski was beginning to navigate through lap traffic as Pauch Jr.
edged past Davis for second. Brandon Grosso, who won the July 7 feature, was
continuing his march to the front by moving into fifth on lap twenty-one.
With five circuits to go, Rutski had nearly a full straightway advantage
over Pauch Jr. with a three car battle for third between Davis, Papiez and
Grosso beginning to heat up. Over the final tours, Rutski’s edge over Pauch
Jr. narrowed but Rutski held on for his second win of the season and the
third of his career. Pauch Jr. finished in second. Grosso won the good clash
for third in the closing circuits. Davis came home in fourth and Bouc
rallied by Papiez on the last lap to finish in fifth. Rich Rutski, Davey
Sammons and David VanHorn recorded wins in the heats for the Modifieds.

In the 20-lap Hammer Sportsman feature, Billy Osmun grabbed the lead at the
midway point and remained in control the rest of the way to score his first
win of the season. Shaun Ratchford led the opening nine revolutions before
the eleventh place starting Osmun ascended to the front. Cale Ross finished
in second. After starting in thirteenth, Kyle Kania completed the race in
third. Fourth went to Ratchford with Ryan Heim taking fifth. Hammer
Sportsman qualifying races were taken by Cale Ross and Shaun Ratchford.

Bill Liedtka regained the lead with two circuits remaining to capture the
15-lap race for the Street Stocks. After Spider Ensinger Sr. paced the field
for the opening tour, the sixth place starting Liedtka took over. During a
caution on lap three, Liedtka retired to the pits with a flat tire and
Ensinger Sr. returned to the top of the field. On the sixth lap, Mick Search
motored to the front with Liedtka in fourth and on the march forward. On lap
thirteen, Liedtka slipped by Search and went on to win his third feature of
the year. With the victory, Liedtka is now the all-time leader in wins in
the division with a total of twenty-five. Search finished in second. Jon
Meyer, Ensinger Sr. and Billy Wroble rounded out the top five.

After taking the lead from his son on the seventh revolution, Joe Garey Sr.
sped away from the competition to register his fifth win of the year in the
15-lap 4-Cylinder race. Joe Garey Jr. finished second and Tom Stavola was

Eastern Auto Parts Warehouse Night is set for Saturday, July 21 at New Egypt
Speedway. The Mid Atlantic Sprint Car Series will be on hand for an
interregional event plus a make-up feature from April 14. The Modifieds,
Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars & Garden State
Vintage Stock Car Club are on the racing docket as well. The pit gates swing
open at 4:00 p.m. and the grandstand turnstiles unlock at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps
start at 6:00 p.m. and racing begins at 7:00 p.m. Admission to the
grandstand is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors 65 and older, $10 for teens
12-15, $10 for military personal and their spouses with ID, and Kids 11 &
under are FREE. Pit admission is $30 with a New Egypt Speedway license and
$40 with no license.

New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great
Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval,
New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best
competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature
daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the
house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear,
and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from
Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.

For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on
Facebook at, or follow us on
Twitter @nesspeedway.



Heat 1 – 1. Rich Rutski 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Kevin Vaclavicek 4. Matt
Stangle 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Rocco Infante

Heat 2 – 1. Davey Sammons 2. Brandon Grosso 3. John McClelland 4. Steve
Davis 5. Wade Hendrickson 6. TJ Lilly

Heat 3 – 1. David VanHorn 2. Danny Bouc 3. JR Fulper 4. Tim Apgar 5. Brian
Papiez 6. Billy Osmun


1. RICH RUTSKI 2. Billy Pauch Jr. 3. Brandon Grosso 4. Steve Davis 5. Danny
Bouc 6. Brian Papiez 7. JR Fulper 8. David VanHorn 9. Wade Hendrickson 10.
Matt Stangle 11. Rocco Infante 12. Dakota Kessler 13. Tim Apgar 14. Kevin
Vaclavicek 15. TJ Lilly 16. Billy Osmun 17. John McClelland 18. Ryan Krachun
19. Blaine Bracelin 20. Davey Sammons 21. Bill Liedtka 22. John Pakenham 23.
Bryan Kuhl

DNS: PJ Oliver
Hammer Sportsman

Heat 1 – 1. Cale Ross 2. Will Dupree 3. Jason Kosch 4. Billy Osmun 5. Jimmy
Amato 6. David Burns 7. Marty Resnick

Heat 2 – 1. Shaun Ratchford 2. Pat Wall 3. Ryan Heim 4. Kyle Kania 5. Bob
Lineman Jr. 6. Joseph Brown 7. Tom Princiotta


1. BILLY OSMUN 2. Cale Ross 3. Kyle Kania 4. Shaun Ratchford 5, Ryan Heim 6.
Bob Lineman Jr. 7. Ryan Simmons 8. Will Dupree 9. Marty Resnick 10. Joe
Nappi 11. Jimmy Amato 12. Tom Princiotta 13. Alonzo Morales 14. Bob Rambone
15. Pat Wall 16. Jason Kosch 17. Joseph Brown 18. David Burns


1. BILL LIEDTKA 2. Mick Search 3. Jon Meyer 4. Spider Ensinger Sr. 5. Billy
Wroble 6. Jerry Stanzione 7. Marty Derr 8. Jim Avery 9. Joe Reid 10. Darren


1. JOE GAREY SR. 2. Joe Garey Jr. 3. Tom Stavola