Rules Meeting Successful – “Duel on Dirt” Series Expands

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , ,      9 years ago     1675 Views     1 Comment  


by Tommy Goudge (23 December 2014) – Ohsweken, Ontario – Rules meetings for Ohsweken Speedway’s Mini Stock and Thunder Stock divisions were held in conjunction with Merrittville Speedway and Humberstone Speedway last weekend, with several exciting announcements made.

Ohsweken’s Thunder Stocks, Merrittville’s Hoosier Stocks, and Humberstone’s Street Stocks will run under the same rule book in 2015, while the rule books for Ohsweken’s Mini Stocks, Merrittville’s 4 Cylinders, and Humberstone’s Mini Stocks have been brought closer together. More discussion is planned for the Mini Stock and 4 Cylinder divisions.

Expansion of the Duel on the Dirt series was also announced. The series has run between Merrittville Speedway’s Hoosier Stocks and Brighton Speedway’s Pro Stocks for over a decade, and will now include Ohsweken Speedway’s Thunder Stocks, and Humberstone Speedway’s Street Stocks as well.

The 2015 Duel on the Dirt series will consist of four 50 lap events – one at each track – and two “home track” nights designated by each speedway. Each 50 Lap race will pay $1000 to the winner, while the series champion will claim another $1,000. The total points fund will see $4,000 divided among the top 24 drivers.

The first of the combined races will take place Sunday 2 August during Humberstone Speedway’s All Canadian Championship event. Ohsweken Speedway will host the series on Friday 11 September, and move to Merrittville Speedway on Saturday 12 September for a doubleheader weekend. The final event will be held at Brighton Speedway on Saturday 26 September during Applefest Shootout weekend.

Drivers must register for the Duel on the Dirt series and declare their “home track” by 1 May 2015. More information regarding rule books, registration, and schedules will be released in the New Year.

Driver rosters for the 2015 season are already taking shape, and the 2015 roster page is regularly updated on the track website. Visit to keep an eye on your favourite driver’s plans for the 2015 season.

The inaugural Ohsweken Speedway Wall of Fame class will be inducted in 2015, and nominations are being accepted until 28 February. Visit for more information.

About Ohsweken Speedway:
Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Bombers, while the season finishes each year with the annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights, and has been a yearly stop on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series schedule since 2007.

Visit the official Ohsweken Speedway website at, like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter @OhswekenSpdway, and subscribe to our YouTube channel at

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following sponsors for their support: Arrow Express, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Nathan Ackland State Farm Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Mobil 1, Burger Barn, Affordable Towing & Recovery, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.