Nine Events, Nine Short Track SuperNationals Modified Winners; 10th “Working Man’s Race” Victor October 7?

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , , ,      4 years ago     690 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Nine Events, Nine Short Track SuperNationals Modified Winners; 10th “Working Man’s Race” Victor October 7?

Story By: Brett Deyo/SSTS

Photos By: Photo Staff

AFTON, NY – In nine editions, the ‘Working Man’s Race’ last lived up to its name.

Nine big-block/small-block Modified races, nine different winners.

On Friday-Saturday, October 6-7, the American Racer Cup Short Track SuperNationals celebrates its 10th anniversary at Afton Motorsports Park. The Modifieds run 50 laps – $5,000 to win, $400 to start – offering points toward the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By VP Halmar International North Region.

The Modified portion of the program, as it has been since the inaugural at Afton in 2006, will be contested on Saturday of the weekend-long event.

Will a 10th winner be established this year?

Tillson, N.Y., short-tracker Mike Ricci bested the field in the ’06 first edition of the ‘Working Man’s Race’ driving for Jim Winchell, which set the precedent for SuperNationals to come.

The second SuperNationals (2009) went to Boyertown, Pa., driver Kevin Hirthler, a regular at Grandview Speedway in Bechtelsville, Pa.

Justin Holland, a relative Modified upstart from Kauneonga Lake, N.Y., put his name on the map with a huge upset win in 2010.

Taking the top honors back home to Pennsylvania in 2011, Duane Howard of Oley, Pa., bested a massive field with the Mike Petruska-owned No. 66.

“Showtime” Danny Tyler of Cottekill, N.Y., made the Accord (N.Y.) Speedway faithful proud during the 2012 running, which was completed despite rain through midday.

Representing the Capital District, Fonda (N.Y.) Speedway mainstay Craig Hanson made his first SuperNationals start in 2013 and walked off with the most prolific win of his career.

In 2014, the event returned to its birthplace on the Afton Fairgrounds. Masonville, N.Y.’s Shaun Walker, who actually made his Modified debut in the 2006 running, worked the low line to Victory Lane.

A year later in 2015, Wurtsboro, N.Y.’s Danny Creeden drove to a hotly contested triumph as the ‘DC Express’ built his name as a contender in major Southern Tier events.

The ‘Ringoes Rocket’ Ryan Godown became the first New Jersey based driver to win the SuperNationals in a rain-postponed 2016 version. Godown passed track champ Andy Bachetti in a 50-lap event that spun off green-to-checkered with no cautions.

A talented and diverse field of Modifieds will again congregate as the “Working Man’s Race” turns 10 at Afton Motorsports Park.

Two full days of racing are on the docket at the fairgrounds oval.

The Saturday (October) program is headlined by the 50-lap STSS Modified showcase.

New for 2017: the American Racer Cup Modified track champions are invited for one-on-one Match Races. All participants receive a certificate for a FREE tire. The winner takes home a cool $2,000!

STSS Modified registration is open at:

The Street Stocks will battle 20 laps for a $1,000 winner’s share thanks to sponsor Trackside Products.

New this year, Street Stock champions from area speedways are invited for a 15-lap Dash paying $500 cash to win. All participants will receive a certificate for a FREE tire.

Also on the Saturday card are the IMCA-Modifieds ($400 to win, $75 to start) and Vintage Modifieds.

On Friday night (October 6), STSS Sportsman take the spotlight in a 35-lap main offering $1,500 to the winner (*with $20 “Gambler’s Fee” posted, $1,000 without) and $125 to take the green. This is the final of five STSS Sportsman races in 2017 and a champion will be crowned.

American Racer Cup Sportsman track champions are invited for one-on-one Match Racers. All participants receive a certificate for a FREE tire. The winner receives $1,000 cash!

STSS Sportsman registration is open at:

The CRSA Sprint Cars will make their second SuperNationals appearance on Friday, joined by FWD Four Cylinders racing for $250 to win and $40 to take the green flag.

Modifieds and Street Stocks will be invited to practice on Friday night in advance of their Saturday events.

Complete weekend rules have been posted on the STSS website:

The weekend breakdown, including times and pricing, is at the following link:

Afton Motorsports Park is located conveniently off I-88 Exit 7 (Afton), approximately 25 miles north and east of Binghamton, at 46 East Main Street Afton, N.Y. 13730. There is plentiful space for parking and camping. To learn more about Afton Motorsports Park, visit

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series or BD Motorsports Media LLC, visit or, call 845.728.2781 or e-mail “Like” Short Track Super Series on Facebook or follow @ShortTrackSS on Twitter.

The 2017 Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, VP Racing Fuel, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, Allstar Performance, ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Fast Axle, Fox Racing Shocks, Hig Fab, Henry’s Exhaust, HyperCo, Keizer Wheels, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, K&N, QA1, Race Pro Weekly, Racing Optics,, Teo-Pro Car, Velocita, Weld & Wilwood.
Short Track SuperNationals Past Winners

2016 (Afton) – Ryan Godown
2015 (Afton) – Danny Creeden
2014 (Afton) – Shaun Walker
2013 (Five Mile Point) – Craig Hanson
2012 (Five Mile Point) – Danny Tyler
2011 (Five Mile Point) – Duane Howard
2010 (Five Mile Point) – Justin Holland
2009 (Five Mile Point) – Kevin Hirthler
2006 (Afton) – Mike Ricci