Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , ,      7 years ago     1155 Views     Comments Off on MAURIELLO WINS HAUNTED HUNDERD AT WALL STADIUM SATURDAY  

[xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”]


WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Everything went well for Eric Mauriello on Saturday afternoon as he set fast time in time trials, started from the pole position and fought off competitors to win the “Haunted Hundred” for Downs Ford Modified stock cars at Wall Stadium Speedway. The victory was worth $5,000.

Mauriello jumped to the lead at the outset of “The Thriller” program’s main event and held off recently crowned champion Steven Reed of Jackson through the initial non-stop 33 laps. Brick’s Ron Frees soon took over second spot and chased Mauriello through lap 66. Reed then returned to second for another shot at the leader before Anthony Sesely of Matawan advanced to second on lap 70 and chased the leader to the finish.

While most of the competition seemed to be wrestling worn tires in the closing laps which forced a flurry of caution flags Mauriello’s car seemed to be handling perfectly on every restart. Finishing behind Mauriello and Sesely was Zane Zeiner of Bath, Pa. who hitched a ride in Mauriello’s team car after his own mount suffered mechanical woes in testing. Jonathan Mandato of Toms River was fourth and Shaun Carrig of Little Falls, in his first race since suffering a medical emergency at the track in late summer, was fifth.

“My tires seemed to be fine right to the end,” Mauriello said. “In fact, I think we could have gone a bunch more laps. I was bummed every time one of those late race cautions waved but my tires seemed to be fine on every restart.”

Manchester’s Shanon Mongeau also had good fortune on his side as he set fast time in time trials for the Snap-on Tools Sportsman 50-lapper. Mongeau held off Andrew Krause of Holmdel in the early going before a flat tire ruined his day. Trevor Alspach of Willingboro then took over second and chased Mongeau to the finish. Mayetta’s Tyler Truex, Howell’s Kevin Davison and Robby Walton of Tuckerton completed the top five.

Rich Mongeau of Brick, Shanon Mongeau’s father, swept a pair of 25-lap main events for the O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks. In the first one Jerry Stanzione of Keansburg, Ron Booth, Brick’s Ronnie Mullen and Marty Van Druten of Toms River wrapped up the top five. In the second 25-lapper Mongeau was chased to the finish by Jerry Koenig of Merrick, NY, Scott Riggleman of Manchester, Stanzione and Mullen.

Newly crowned Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars champion Robert French of Howell won the 30-lapper for his division with a winning pass over Mike Alcaro of West Milford on the final lap. Mitchell Dowd, Kevin Nowak and Nick Van Wickle were third through fifth.

The “Awards Dinner” is next up on Sunday, November 1. Then the complete attention of the Wall Stadium staff and officials turns to the annual running of the Turkey Derby set during the daylight hours on Friday, Saturday and Sunday of Thanksgiving weekend. With the Tour Type Modifieds and the Downs Ford Modifieds sharing top billing a complete schedule and more information on the three-day spectacular will be announced soon.

Wall Stadium Speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. More information can be obtained by visiting The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is


MODIFIED FEATURE – 100 Laps – 1. ERIC MAURIELLO, HOWELL, 2. Anthony Sesely, 3. Zane Zeiner, 4. Jonathan Mandato, 5. Shaun Carrig, 6. Jimmy Blewett, 7. Steven Reed, 8. Justin Gumley, 9. Danny Bohn, 10. Derek Hopkinson, 11. Ron Frees, 12. Jason Hearne, 13. Tommy Farrell, 14. Chris Hamilton, 15. Shawna Ingraham, 16. Ken Matlach, 17. Dominick Fattaruso, 18. Jason Treat, 19. Andrew Krause

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 50 Laps – 1. SHANON MONGEAU. MANCHESTER, 2. Trevor Alspach, 3. Tyler Truex, 4. Kevin Davison, 5. Robby Walton, 6. Larry Thompson, 7. Kenny Van Wickle, 8. Robert Vassilatos, 9. Andrew Krause, 10. Rob Silver, 11. Matt Langbein, 12. Ray Fattaruso, 13. Dave Bailey, 14. Brian Doyle, 15. Dakota Kessler, 16. Scott Brannick, 17. Nick Shaw, 18. Ricky Collins

1ST FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. RICH MONGEAU, BRICK, 2. Jerry Stanzione, 3. Ron Booth, 4. Ronnie Mullen, 5. Marty Van Druten, 6. Jerry Koenig, 7. Mike Montano, 8. Josh Matthews, 9. Kenny Green, 10. AJ Jadacki, 11. Whitey Miller, 12. Tom Rajkowski, 13. Danny Bruer, 14. Tony Bartone, 15. Rick Patterson, 16. Matt Badessa, 17. John Bowers, 18. Jason Lane, 19. Lee Allen, 20. Scott Riggleman

2ND FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. RICH MONGEAU, BRICK, 2. Koenig, 3. Riggleman, 4. Stanzione, 5. Mullen, 6. Green, 7. Booth, 8. Matthews, 9. Patterson, 10. Rajkowski, 11. Bartone, 12. Miller, 13. Lane, 14. Jadacki, 15. Montano, 16. Badessa, 17. Van Druten, 18. Bruer

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 30 Laps – 1. ROBERT FRENCH, HOWELL, 2. Mike Alcaro, 3. Mitchell Dowd, 4. Kevin Nowak, 5. Nick Van Wickle, 6. Artie Pederson, 7. Raven Schrantz, 8. Chris Gall, 9. Peter Bruno, 10. Jerry Currin, 11. Roger Nickerson, 12. Louie Keraitis, 13. Kyle Dealaman, 14. James Van Wickle

[xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”]