Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , , ,      3 years ago     2914 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Larry Wight Starts Out 2017 at the Brewerton Speedway with Two Straight Wins



BREWERTON, NY – May 20, 2017 – Larry Wight in his quest for his first Tracey Road Equipment Modified track title at the Brewerton Speedway has started out the first two races of the season in victory lane.

In the wild 35 lap feature Wight started 18th and took the lead on a restart with two laps to go outrunning defending track champion Jimmy Phelps.

Alan Fink (Sportsman) Jeff Sykes (Mod Lites) and Chuck Powelczyk (4-Cylinders) also picked up feature wins on LaLonde Electric and American Diabetes Association of Central New York night.

In the Modified feature Bobby Varin jumped out to the early lead with Tim Sears Jr. right in his tire tracks as the battles behind the top two were two and three wide throughout the field.

With 10 laps in the record book, Varin held on to a narrow advantage over Sears as the pair raced in close quarters as they were in heavy traffic trying to also put cars a lap down. Tom Sears Jr., Adam Roberts and Ryan Bartlett showed third through fifth.

Two quick caution periods on lap 17 and lap 21 would keep the battle at the front of the field tight between Varin and Sears. The car on the move by this point was Larry Wight who started 18th and worked his way well into the top five.

On the lap 21 restart Sears used the top of the speedway to blast into the lead to show number 1 on the scoring tower.

With 10 laps to go Sears by that point switched from the top of the speedway that got him the lead to the bottom and held a quarter of a straightaway lead. Varin, Tom Sears, Wight and Gary Tomkins were locked in a fight for second through fifth.

Varin was able to close in on Sears as the two ran bumper to bumper and side by side as the final laps started to click off on the scoring tower. With two laps to go they were racing in tight quarters making contact going into turn one that saw Sears get turned around ending his bid for the win.

On the restart going into turn one Varin got sideways that also involved Tom Sears, Chad Phelps and Tomkins. Wight was able to avoid the jingle to be at the front of the field for the final two laps.

When the green came back out Larry Wight was able to outrun Jimmy Phelps to the checkers with Adam Roberts, Max McLaughlin and Andrew Ferguson putting in strong runs finishing third through fifth.

Jack Meeks would take early control in the 25 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman as another stout field of cars battled for positions early in the going.

At the 10 lap mark Meeks still showed the way as opening night winner Alan Fink was closing in quickly on the leader. Todd Root, Chris Cunningham and Ron Davis III were dicing it out in the top five.

With 10 laps to go Meeks and Fink were not only racing for the win they were also trying to get through cars at the rear of the field. Root, Cunningham and Davis still showed in the top five.

The turning point of the race came on lap 17 when a car suddenly slowed in front of Meeks allowing Fink to drive by to be scored the new leader. Once out front nobody was stopping Alan Fink for his second straight win to start the season. Jack Meeks, Todd Root, Tyler Thompson and Ron Davis III came home second through fifth.

In the 20 lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lite feature Lowell Zehr would lead the early laps until defending track champion Jeff Sykes was able to grab the lead on a lap 5 restart. Once out front, Sykes was the class of the field picking up the victory. Casey Sykes, Brian Meyers, Justin Williams and Lowell Zehr had strong runs finishing second through fifth.

Quinn Wallis would led the opening laps until he caught behind a car at the back of the field allowing Chris Bonoffski and Chuck Powelczyk to drive by. Bonoffski and Powelczyk would battle for the lead until Powelczyk grabbed the lead on lap 10. Once out front there was no stopping Powelczyk as he picked up his second straight win. Chris Bonoffski, Quinn Wallis, Colby Herzog and Sam Curcie grabbed top five finishes.

This Friday, May 26 start your Memorial Day weekend at the ‘D-Shaped Dirt Demon’ as Ingles Performance presents a night of fast, family affordable, fun racing. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders.

Adult admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger FREE. Pit admission is $27 participant, $30 non-participant. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or For all the latest news visit Like the track Facebook page

LaLonde Electric & American Diabetes Association of Central New York Night Results

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – LARRY WIGHT, Jimmy Phelps, Adam Roberts, Max McLaughlin, Andrew Ferguson, Rob Bellinger, Tim Kerr, Billy Decker, Chad Phelps, Tim Sears Jr., Bobby Varin, Gary Tomkins, Tom Sears Jr., Ryan Bartlett, Pat Ward, Rich Scagliotta, Matt Hulsizer, Lee Gill, Mike Bowman, Jim Witko Jr., Chris Hile, DNS- Mike Mahaney, Jeremy Smith.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) –  ALAN FINK, Jack Meeks, Todd Root, Tyler Thompson, Ron Davis III, Zach Sobotka, Kevin Root, Jackson Gill, Nick Krause, Brent Joy, Rocco Leone, Jeff Taylor, Earl Rudy, Chris Cunningham, Stephen Denton, Kyle Fink, Patrick LaPage, Ricky Yelle, Tyler Trump, Darren Smith, Glenn Forward, Mike Stanton Jr., Rich Townsend, Joe Sobotka.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JEFF SYKES, Casey Sykes, Brian Meyers, Justin Williams, Lowell Zehr, Mike LaRose, Dave Brown, Tom Perkins, Kelly Skinner, Jim Dunham, Josh Kinney, Sam Usborne, Mike Mullen, Zack Babcock.

(JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Chris Bonoffski, Quinn Wallis, Colby Herzog, Sam Curcie, Stephanie Seeley, Dylan Curcie, Ray Bechler, Evan Wright, DNS- Jamie Radley, Nate Powers, Mike Sherbeck.