Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      6 years ago     1223 Views     Comments Off on KRAUSE, HOPKINSON WIN WALL STADIUM MOD TWINS SATURDAY  


Story By: Jeff Gravatt/Wall Stadium Speedway

Photos By: John John Lane/

WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Andrew Krause of Holmdel and Toms River’s Derek Hopkinson raced to Freehold Ford Modified stock car victories Saturday night at Wall St6adium in the “Pete & Elda’s Bar/Carmen’s Pizzeria Twin 40’.” Krause’s win was his second of the season while Hopkinson grabbed his first win of the campaign.

The first Modified race saw Jason Hearne of New Egypt and Hopkinson wrestle for the top spot early before Hopkinson went spinning from contention. Krause then moved to second and raced side-by-side with Hearne for several laps before taking the lead. Krause then cruised on to the victory with Howell’s Jimmy Blewett fighting off Jackson’s Steven Reed for second. Trevor Alspach of Willingboro and Manchester’s Shanon Mongeau were fourth and fifth.

In the Modified nightcap Jackson’s Blake Barney was the early leader as Hopkinson stalked the top spot. An early race restart saw Hopkinson swing to the outside lane and then race side-by-side with Barney for several laps. Eventually Hopkinson took the lead and fought off Alspach, Blewett and eventual runner-up Krause before taking the win. Blewett, Alspach and Howell’s Eric Mauriello completed the top five.

The O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks raced in twin 25 lap events with Union’s Joey Helberg taking the win after charging to the top spot near the half way point in the first event. Wall’s Bob Haberstick, Ron Booth of Eatontown, Manchester’s Scott Riggleman and Mike Montano of Fort Myers, Florida wrapped up the top five.

Joe Mongeau of Brick crossed the finish line first in the second Factory Stock 25-lapper but when officials said that Mongeau elected not to take his car to post-race inspection his win and a sixth place finish in the first feature were wiped out. As a result Haberstick was awarded his second win of the year in this one with Bayville’s Elliott Wohl, Riggleman, Wall’s Bryan O’Shea and Montano completing the top five.

Mike Alcaro of West Milford won the 25-lapper for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars coming from the rear of the field for the victory. Nick Van Wickle of Edgewater Park, Howell’s Robert French, Louie Keraitis of Toms River and Luke Marzano were second through fifth.

Brian Doyle of Ronkonkoma, N.Y. was the top man in the Elite Maintenance Limited Late Model 25-lapper over Bayville’s Mike Tillett, Anthony Crimaldi of Port Monmouth, Wall’s Cole Ormsbee and Harry Schaeffer.

Racing returns this Saturday night. The August 5 “NAPA Night/Luau Night” card will feature the Freehold Ford Modifieds, the Snap on Sportsman, the Factory Stocks, the Surfside Collision 4 Cylinder Stocks, the Limited Late Models and the Legend Cars in “Cone Races.” Grandstands open at 5:00 p.m., qualifying starts at 5:45 p.m. and main event action starts at 7:00 p.m.

More information on Wall Stadium and the 2017 Saturday night schedule can be obtained by visiting the website at
Wall Stadium is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is


1ST MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. ANDREW KRAUSE, HOLMDEL, 2. Jimmy Blewett, 3. Steven Reed, 4. Trevor Alspach, 5. Shanon Mongeau, 6. Jason Treat, 7. Justin Gumley, 8. Blake Barney, 9. Derek Hopkinson, 10. Adam LaCicero, 11. Marc Rogers, 12. Tommy Catanzano, 13. Scott Brannick, 14. Jason Hearne, 15. Zack Alspach, 16. Shaun Carrig, 17. Ricky Collins, 18. Chas Okerson, 19. Shawna Ingraham, 20. Kenny Van Wickle

2ND MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1. DEREK HOPKINSON, TOMS RIVER, 2. Krause, 3. Blewett, 4. Trevor Alspach, 5. Eric Mauriello, 6. Reed, 7. Rogers, 8. Hearne, 9. Ingraham, 10. Collins, 11. Catanzano, 12. LaCicero, 13. Gumley, 14. Carrig, 15. Van Wickle, 16. Treat, 17. Okerson, 18. Barney

1ST FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. JOEY HELBERG, UNION, 2. Bob Haberstick, Jr. 3. Ron Booth, 4. Scott Riggleman, 5. Mike Montano, 6. Elliott Wohl, 7. Bryan O’Shea, 8. Matt Badessa, 9. John Bowers, 10. Tony Bartone, 11. Theresa Collins, 12. Gerry Koenig, 13. Tim O’Shea, 14. Eric Bodenschatz, 15. Waylon Speer, 16. Nancy Riggleman, 17. Tim Majek, 18. Richie Byrne, 19. Whitey Miller, 20. Tom Rajkowski, DQ Joe Mongeau

2ND FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. BOB HABERSTICK, JR., WALL, 2. Wohl, 3. Scott Riggleman, 4. Bryan O’Shea, 5. Montano, 6. Booth, 7. Bowers, 8. Rajkowski, 9. Koenig, 10. Bodenschatz, 11. Majek, 12. Helberg, 13. Tim O’Shea, 14. Miller, 15. Badessa, 16. Speer, 17. Nancy Riggleman, 18. Bartone, 19. Collins, 20. Byrne, DQ Mongeau