Jimmy Phelps Uses Last Lap Pass For Exciting Brewerton Speedway Modified Victory

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , ,      11 months ago     216 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Jimmy Phelps Uses Last Lap Pass For Exciting Brewerton Speedway Modified Victory; Double Modified Features Friday, August 18

Story By: Dave Medler/Brewerton Speedway

Photos By: Mike Johnson/RacersGuide.com

BREWERTON, NY – August 11, 2017 – On Friday once again doom and gloom was predicted in the weather department but Brewerton Speedway officials decided they were going to make every effort to get in the August 11 racing program. The rains never came and fans were treated with fantastic track conditions that provided exciting two and three wide racing on Scott Jeffery’s Performance Plus and Ingles Performance night at the speedway.

Jimmy Phelps used a last lap, last corner pass to take the win in the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds. Ron Davis III won a pair of SUNY Canton Sportsman features. Justin Williams took his first win in a handful of years in the Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and Chris Bonoffski won his fourth of the year in the JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders.

Jeremy Smith and Chris lead the big block modified field down to the green with Hile grabbing the early advantage in the 35-lap feature.

With 10 laps showing on the scoring tower Hile opened a full straightaway lead while Smith, Tim Sears Jr., Jimmy Phelps and Max McLaughlin we in a tight fight for second through fifth.

A quick yellow on lap-12 would erase a three-second lead Hile had built-up.

At lap-15 Hile was still setting a quick pace out front. Behind Hile, Smith, Sears, Chad Phelps and Jimmy Phelps were in a dogfight for top-five positions.

A yellow and restart on lap-22 would see second place-running Tim Sears Jr. night come to an end. When the race went back to green, Sears suddenly slowed, pulling to the top of the speedway, coasting to a stop.

Over the final laps it looked like Hile was going to victory lane but Jimmy Phelps had other ideas after racing into the second spot from his 11th starting position.

Phelps would finally catch Hile by going from the top of the speedway to the bottom lane. On the final lap, exiting turn two, a lapped car made Hile change his line letting Phelps pull even heading into turns three and four. Phelps would find the bite he needed on the bottom to win the drag race down the front straight winning by a slim 0.314 of a second over Hile at the checkers.

The battle for top-ten finishing positions saw every inch of the speedway being used right down to the checkers. Chad Phelps, Billy Decker and Jeremy Smith finished third through fifth. Larry Wight, Rich Scagliotta, Pat Ward, Max McLaughlin and Matt Hulsizer completed the top-ten.

A pair of 25-lap SUNY Canton Sportsman features were run. Ron Davis III decision to bring back out his 2014 Bicknell chassis paid off as he swept the night for his first Brewerton wins of the season.

In the August 4th holdover feature Rocco Leone would grab the early lead as the racing behind him was two and three wide in the early going.

A lap-5 restart would see Davis go from sixth to the third using the top of the speedway. The winning pass was made on a lap-8 restart as he blasted into the lead and was never seriously challenged the rest of the way. Rocco Leone, Nick Krause, Tyler Trump and Todd Root would finish second through fifth.

In the second 25-lap feature Rocco Leone and Nick Krause would lead laps in the early going as Davis was working his way to the front of the field. A lap-12 restart would see Davis drive to the lead. Once out-front Davis was not to be stopped as he cruised under the checkers over Kevin Root, Tyler Trump, Alan Fink and Rocco Leone.

Davis also grabbed the Xtreme Auto Recovery Back-to-Back Feature Winner $500 Bonus.

Sam Usborne would lead the opening 4-laps of the 20-lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lite feature until Mike Mullen took the lead on a restart. Mullen’s lead would be short lived when points leader Justin Williams grabbed the lead on an early race restart.

Williams and Mullen would race side by side for a number of laps keeping the lead in doubt. In the late going Williams was too strong as he picked up his first feature win since 2012. Mike Mullen, Jeff Sykes, Joe Garafolo and Zack Babcock finished second through fifth.

Chris Bonoffski was the show in the JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders as he dominated the 15-lap feature. Chuck Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis, Stephen Randall and Lorraine Powelczyk brought home top-five finishes.

Mark Denny Jr. won the Truck & SUV One-on-One Spectator races.

This Friday, August 18th the 800 horsepower Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds will run a pair of 35-lap features starting with the August 4th holdover feature. Also racing on NAPA Auto Parts Night will be the SUNY Canton Sportsman, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites and JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders. The Home Depot will also be on hand with their Kids Work Shop in the midway. Grandstands will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities please contact Cory Reed (315) 668-6906 or cory@brewertonspeedway.com. For all the latest news go to www.brewertonspeedway.com . Like the track Facebook page www.facebook.com/BrewertonSpeedway.

Scott Jeffrey’s Performance Plus & Ingles Performance Night August 11 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – JIMMY PHELPS, Chris Hile, Chad Phelps, Billy Decker, Jeremy Smith, Larry Wight, Rich Scagliotta, Pat Ward, Max McLaughlin, Matt Hulsizer, Mike Bowman, Tim Kerr, Gary Tomkins, Rob Bellinger, Roy Bresnahan, Lee Gill, Andrew Ferguson, Adam Roberts, Jeff Blackburn, Tim Sears Jr., Tom Sears Jr., Mike Mahaney, Ryan Bartlett.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman August 4 -25 Laps) – RON DAVIS III, Rocco Leone, Nick Krause, Tyler Trump, Todd Root, Zach Sobotka, Alan Fink, Tyler Thompson, Joe Sobotka, Glenn Forward, Brent Joy, Stephen Denton, Earl Rudy, Kyle Fink, Chris Cunningham, Jackson Gill, Amy Holland, Mike Stanton Jr., Joe Isabell, Jeff Taylor, Pat LaPage, Rich Townsend, Rick Rogala, Dylan Zacharias, Richie Riggs, Mike Button, DNS – Chris Hulsizer.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman August 11 – 25 Laps) – RON DAVIS III, Kevin Root, Tyler Trump, Alan Fink, Rocco Leone, Glenn Forward, Brent Joy, Amy Holland, Jackson Gill, Chris Cunningham, Kyle Fink, Joe Isabell, Stephen Denton, Jeff Taylor, Pat LaPage, Mike Stanton Jr., Todd Root, Mike Button, Joe Sobotka, Nick Krause, Rich Townsend, Richie Riggs, Earl Rudy, Zach Sobotka, Rick Rogala, Tyler Thompson, Bailey Groves, Chris Hulsizer, DNS – Dylan Zacharias.

(Xtreme Auto Recovery Back-to-Back Feature Winner $500 Bonus) – Ron Davis III.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) – JUSTIN WILLIAMS, Mike Mullen, Jeff Sykes, Joe Garafolo, Zack Babcock, Brian Meyers, Lowell Zehr, Josh Kinney, Nick Graziano, Sam Usborne, Tom Mackey, Kelly Skinner, Tucker Halliday, Casey Sykes, Jim Dunham.

(JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHRIS BONOFFSKI, Chuck Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis, Stephen Randall, Lorraine Powelczyk, Dylan Curcie, Mike Perry Jr., Nate Powers, Sabrina Jeffries, Sam Curcie.

(One-on-One Truck & SUV) – Mark Denny Jr.