Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , , ,      10 months ago     910 Views     Leave your thoughts  


Story By: Charlie Brown/Delaware International Speedway

Photos By: Delaware International Speedway & Pete MacDonald/RacersGuide.com

Delmar, DE – Round No. 4 of the Full Throttle Racing Series managed to dodge the pop up thunderstorms that surrounded the track Thursday night at the Delaware International Speedway. The first three races in the series had provided three different winners – Rick Laubach, Ryan Watt and Craig VonDorhen and on Thursday night, they would chase first time winner, Ryan Godown, driving the Petruski Racing No. 66, to the checkered.

Thirty-two Big Block Modifieds took part in qualifying with heats going to Ryan Watt, Duane Howard, Carson Wright and Craig VonDohren. Kevin Sockriter captured the consolation.

Howard would draw the pole starting spot in the ASI Sportswear Redraw. Howard had been the quickest in hot laps and in the heat. At the drop of the green he began to pull away while Jordan Watson, Billy Pauch, Jr., Ryan Godown and Carson Wright were battling it out in the top five.

Just as it appeared that Howard would be the car to beat he scrapped the wall coming off the second turn. The contact resulted in a flat right rear bringing out the only caution in the 40-lap main on lap five.

Jordan Watson was now on the point with Godown getting by Ryan Watt for second. The lead trio came off the fourth turn three wide on lap eight with Watson holding off the challenge until Godown found the bite on the bottom to make the pass for the lead.

Once out front, Godown was not able to shake Watson, Watt and Pauch, Jr. Craig VonDohren, looking for back to back wins in the season was on the move cracking the top five on lap nine. The front pack was intense and Watt’s persistence paid off as he got by Watson on lap 14. Pauch, Jr. would follow into third one lap later bringing VonDohren into fourth.

VonDohren was up to third by lap 17 as the lead pack threaded its way through heavy traffic. Rick Laubach made his presence know just past halfway when he dropped Jamie Mills out of fifth after starting in 13th. Three laps later Laubach got by Pauch, Jr. for fourth but the lead trio had distanced themselves from the rest of the field.

Godown was never able to shake Watt and VonDohren but seemed to have the upper hand in traffic. With two laps to go VonDohren got by Watt but Godown would make no mistakes as he drove to the $4000 win becoming the fourth different winner in as many Full Throttle races.

The three previous winners filled out the next three spots with VonDohren second, Watt third and Laubach fourth. Pauch, Jr. turned in his best performance at the speedway finishing in fifth. Nineteen of the 24 starters were running at the finish.

Full Throttle Big Block Modified Finish: 1. Ryan Godown; 2. Craig VonDohren; 3. Ryan Watt; 4. Rick Laubach; 5. Billy Pauch, Jr. 6. Danny Johnson; 7. Jordan Watson; 8. Jamie Mills; 9. Jimmy Horton; 10. H.J. Bunting; 11. Jeff Strunk; 12. Kevin Sockriter; 13. Matt Jester; 14. Scott VanGorder; 15. Howard O’Neal; 16. Shawn Ward; 17. Bobby Watkins; 18. Ron Roberts; 19. Eric Kormann; 20. JoJo Watson; 21. Carson Wright; 22. Michael White; 23. Robert Dutton; 24. Duane Howard. DNQ: T.J. Williams; Westley Smith; Eric Vent; Frank Cozze; Dave Dissinger; Kevin Gardner; Clay Tatman; Brandon Watson.