Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , ,      8 years ago     1594 Views     Comments Off on ERIC MAURIELLO WINS WILL WALL STADIUM MODIFIED OPENER SATURDAY  

WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Eric Mauriello continued on a hot streak at Wall Stadium Speedway Saturday night by winning a wild opening night 40-lap main event for the Downs Ford Modified stock cars. The Howell resident won his last time out in the annual “Turkey Derby” classic here five months ago.DSC_0179

Despite chilly evening temperatures a large grandstand crowd watched the 26 car Modified field take the green flag with Jason Hearne of New Egypt the early leader while Derek Hopkinson of Toms River and Freehold’s Steven Reed were soon a tight second and third. Lap seven saw the top runners shuffle as Hopkinson and Reed touched exiting turn four. Hopkinson pitted to repair a flat tire while Reed also pitted with a reported wrist injury.

Hearne led on the restart with Shawna Ingraham of Brick now the challenger. The duo raced in tight formation until lap 15 when they touched in the first turn. Hearne went spinning from the lead and officials decided that Ingraham contributed to the miscue and she was sent to the rear of the field.

The turn of events moved Mauriello, who had avoided accidents and advanced into the top five, to the top spot with defending champion Chas Okerson of Freehold challenging in second. Mauriello and Okerson ran tight to the finish while Trevor Alspach of Willingboro, who had started last, advanced to third in the final laps. Shaun Carrig of Little Falls and Adam LaCicero of Lavallette were fourth and fifth.

“I got lucky out there,” Mauriello said. “But then again the car was great and you need a great car to get out of trouble sometimes.”

The race was stopped on lap seven for a 10-car pile up in the first turn. Among those knocked out of the event in the crash were Jimmy Blewett, Chris Reynolds and Ken Woolley, Jr., all of Howell, Hopkinson, Brick’s Ron Frees and Jonathan Mandato of Toms River.

In another wild main event Kenny Van Wickle won the 30-lapper for the Snap-on Sportsman cars. Van Wickle led almost all the way but had to fight off attacks from Eric Lane, Shanon Mongeau and Chris Lane, all of Howell, and Andrew Krause of Holmdel. Krause, Chris Lane and defending champion Kevin Davison of Howell were second through fourth while Tuckerton’s Robby Walton was fifth.

In a non-stop 25-lap feature that needed a check of the videotape to determine the winner defending O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Cup champion Scott Riggleman of Manchester took the win over Brick’s Joe Mongeau. The duo battled from start to finish with Brick’s Ronnie Mullen, Bob Haberstick, Jr. and Tiffany Olejnik, both of Wall, rounding out the top five.

Howell’s Robert French charged to the front early and won the 25-lapper for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars. Lady racer Casey Robicheau of Whiting was in contention all the way finishing second with defending champ Brian Spencer of Edison recovering from an early tangle to finish third. Mitchell Dowd and Vincent Colletti were fourth and fifth.

Wall’s Brien Crosby took top honors in the 25-lap feature for the Green Monster Insulation 4 Cylinder Stocks. Brick’s Ronnie Mullen, Jason Lane, Alonzo Morales of Burlington and Corey Stockert wrapped up the top five.

Defending Limited Late Model champion Brian Doyle of Ronkonkoma, N.Y. started the year off right win a 25-lap main event win over Anthony Crimaldi of Port Monmouth, Jackson’s Howie Conk, John Vullo of Ronkonkoma, N.Y. and Bayville’s Mike Tillett.

Wall Stadium returns to action this Saturday (May 2) night with the Fan Appreciation Night/On Track Party. With gates opening at 4:00 p.m. fans are invited to walk down onto the speedway where every car in competition will be available for inspection while drivers will be meeting with fans and signing autographs. Qualifying for the evening will then follow with main events for the Modifieds, Sportsman, Factory Stocks, 4 Cylinder Stocks, Limited Late Models and Legend Cars capping off the night.

Action will then continue Sunday at noon with the weekly “Sunday Small Car Series” on tap.

Wall Stadium presents professional motorsports events on Saturdays and Sundays through September with special post-season races in October and November. The speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400, while is the track’s email address. More information is also available at


MODIFIED FEATURE – 40 Laps – 1 ERIC MAURIELLO, HOWELL, 2. Chas Okerson, 3. Trevor Alspach, 4. Shaun Carrig, 5. Adam LaCicero, 6. Shanon Mongeau, 7. Ken Matlach, 8. Justin Gumley, 9. Shawna Ingraham, 10. Jonathan Mandato, 11. Chad Churilla, 12. Derek Hopkinson, 13. Neil Rutt, 14. Renee Dupuis, 15. Zack Alspach, 16. Jason Treat, 17. Jason Hearne, 18. Andrew Krause, 19. Ken Woolley, 20. Ron Frees, 21. Ryan Cottrell, 22. Chris Reynolds, 23. Jimmy Blewett, 24. Steven Reed, 25. Rob Schultz, 26. Glenn Slocum

SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 30 Laps – 1. KENNY VAN WICKLE, MANASQUAN, 2. Andrew Krause, 3. Chris Lane, 4. Kevin Davison, 5. Robby Walton, 6. Rob Hyer, 7. Rob Silver, 8. Joe Cocca, 9. Jason Caruso, 10. Matt Langbein. 11. Eric Lane, 12. Jarret DeGiantomasso, 13. Roland DeMartino, 14. Chris Owsik, 15. Rocky Collins, 16. Dave Bailey, 17. Dom Fattaruso, 18. Larry Thompson, 19. Scott Brannick, 20. Tim Stephan, 21. Robert Sutphin, 22, Shanon Mongeau

FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. SCOTT RIGGLEMAN, MANCHESTER, 2. Joe Mongeau, 3. Ronnie Mullen, 4. Bob Haberstick, 5. Tiffany Olejnik, 6. Joey Helberg, 7. Marty Van Druten, 8. Tim O’Shea, 9. Mike Montano, 10. Josh Matthews, 11. Jerry Koenig, 12. Steve Worth, 13. Dan Springfield, 14. Bill Stockert, 15. Matt Badessa, 16. Nick Shaw, 17. Rich Mongeau

LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. ROBERT FRENCH, HOWELL, 2. Casey Robicheau, 3. Brian Spencer, 4. Mitchell Dowd, 5. Vincent Colletti, 6. Joe McGrath, 7. Steve Mingenelli, 8. Nick Van Wickle, 9. Chris Gall, 10. Steve Woytysiak, 11. James Van Wickle, 12. Roger Nickerson, 13. Malcolm Campbell, 14. Louie Keraitis, 15. Sean Gallagher, 16. Matt Marzano, 17. Peter Bruno

4 CYLINDER FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. BRIEN CROSBY, WALL, 2. Ronnie Mullen, 3. Jason Lane, 4. Alonzo Morales, 5. Corey Stockert, 6. TJ Graves, 7. Christian LaCicero, 8. Ron Lane, 9. Fred Cannock, 10. Alan Camp, 11. Cody Mount, 12. Darianne McLaren, 13. Zack Haspel

LIMITED LATE MODEL FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. BRIAN DOYLE, RONKONKOMA, N.Y., Anthony Crimaldi, 3. Howie Conk, 4. John Vullo, 5. Mike Tillett, 6. Dom Casola, 7. Bill Vanderveen, 8. Cole Ormsbee, 9. Michelle Moorman