Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , , , ,      3 years ago     637 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Billy Decker Flies To Second Straight Brewerton Speedway Win



BREWERTON, NY – June 10, 2017- For the second straight week the “Franklin Flyer” Billy Decker put on a driving clinic as he put his Page Trucking No.91 in victory lane at the Brewerton Speedway.

Starting 17th in the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Modified feature Decker’s car was on rails using every inch of the speedway as he worked his way through the field. The winning pass would come on lap 31 when Decker used the top of the speedway exiting turn four driving by Tim Sears, Jr. into the lead. Even a late caution couldn’t slow Decker down as he drove away for the win.

Other winners on Xtreme Auto Recovery night were, Zach Sobotka (Sportsman) Mike Mullen (Mod Lites) Chris Bonoffski (4-Cylinders).

In the 35 lap Modified feature Mike Mahaney would led the opening lap, then on lap 2 Lee Gill and Tim Sears, Jr. would occupy the top two spots.

A quick caution on lap 9 would bunch the field up. On the restart Gill would take the inside and that was all Sears needed as he drove around Gill and into the lead.

With 15 laps showing on the scoring tower Sears opened a half a straightaway lead as Chris Hile chased from second. Mike Bowman, Gill, Rob Bellinger, Matt Hulsizer, Gary Tomkins and Billy Decker raced in tight pack for third through eighth.

On lap 20 Sears was still cruising out front with Hile, Bowman, Gill and Decker showing on the scoring tower.

Lap 26 would see a caution, erasing the lead Sears had, putting the fastest car on the track, Decker right with Sears for a 9-lap shootout to the checkers.

Sears would keep running the bottom where he ran most of the race, forcing Decker to go to the topside of the speedway.

As racers say, sometimes leading the race is tough because you can’t see where everyone else is running and if they found a quicker way around.

On lap 31, running the top of the speedway, Decker would drive by Sears to be scored the leader. Even a caution with 3 laps to go wasn’t going to slow Decker down as he drove first under the checkers for the popular win. Tim Sears, Jr., Rob Bellinger, Mike Bowman and Chris Hile finished second through fifth.

In the 25 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Jeff Taylor and Ricky Yelle would lead the opening two-laps before a yellow would wave on lap 3. When the race went back to green Chris Cunningham would blast into the lead using the topside of the track.

After another yellow on lap 5 it would take Tyler Thompson just 2 laps using a power move on the outside groove to be scored the new leader.

With 10 laps complete Thompson held a slim five car length cushion as the battle behind him was a close fight between Glenn Forward, Cunningham, Yelle and Zach Sobotka.

While running in the second spot with Thompson still in his sights Forward caught the cushion in turns one and two stopping his car and bringing out a yellow.

When the green came back out and going into turns one and two Thompson got too high allowing Zach Sobotka to drive by and into the lead. The rest of the distance there was no stopping Sobotka as he picked up his first ever Brewerton Speedway feature win. Todd Root, Tyler Thompson, Ron Davis III and Ricky Yelle finished second through fifth.

Casey Sykes built up a big lead and looked to run away in the 20 lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lite feature. Yellows late in the going on lap 16 and lap 19 would tighten the field up for a green, white, checker finish. Mike Mullen could hang with Sykes but never find a way by as Sykes was first under the checkers.

A post-race trip across the scales showed Sykes light, handing the win to Mullen. Brian Meyers, Ryan Halliday, Joe Isabell and Justin Williams finished second through fifth.

In the 15 lap JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinder feature Chris Bonoffski took the lead on lap 2 and never looked back. The win was anything but easy as he had to hold off late race challenges from Ray Bechler. Jamie Radley, Chuck Powelczyk and Quinn Wallis finished third through fifth.

This Friday, June 16 Collectibles Galore will present a four-star racing program featuring the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Firehouse Subs Mod Lites, JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders plus the Home Depot Kids Workshop.

Collectibles Galore will be putting up “Bonus Bucks” Modified & Sportsman – $100 each heat winner. Mod Lites & 4-Cylinders $50 each heat winner.

Adult grandstand admission on June 16 will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger FREE. Pit admission is $27 participant, $30 non participant. Gates open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

The Xtreme Auto Recovery Back to Back Winners Bonus Eligible Drivers if they win their second straight feature on June 16 will collect.

$500 – (Modified) – Billy Decker

$500 – (Sportsman) – Zach Sobotka

$200 – (Mod Lites) – Mike Mullen

$200 – (4-Cylinders) – Chris Bonoffski


Extreme Auto Recovery Night June 9 Results.

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – BILLY DECKER, Tim Sears Jr., Rob Bellinger, Mike Bowman, Chris Hile, Gary Tomkins, Larry Wight, Jimmy Phelps, Adam Roberts, Matt Hulsizer, Andrew Ferguson, Max McLaughlin, Tim Kerr, Jeremy Smith, Mike Mahaney, Pat Ward, Lee Gill, Ryan Blackburn, Chad Phelps, Jim Witko Jr., Ryan Bartlett.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) – ZACH SOBOTKA, Todd Root, Tyler Thompson, Ron Davis III, Ricky Yelle, Brent Joy, Mike Stanton Jr., Nick Krause, Earl Rudy, Chris Cunningham, JJ Courcy, Alan Fink, Stephen Denton, Tyler Trump, Kyle Fink, Jackson Gill, Jeff Taylor, Glenn Forward, Patrick LaPage, Charlie Tibbitts, Rocco Leone, George Dyer, Rich Townsend.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) – MIKE MULLEN, , Brian Meyers, Ryan Halliday, Joe Isabell, Justin Williams, Jeff Sykes, Lowell Zehr, Josh Kinney, Sam Usborne, Tom Mackey, Dave Brown, Joe Garafolo, Jim Dunham, Casey Sykes, DNS -TJ Aldridge.

(JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHRIS BONOFFSKI, Ray Bechler, Jamie Radley, Chuck Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis, Sam Curcie, Evan Wright, Stephanie Seeley, Dylan Curcie, Shawn Hort, Michael Perry Jr., DNS-Nate Powers.