Bradentons Dutilly takes modified feature at Desoto Speedway

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      6 years ago     1219 Views     Leave your thoughts  

[xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”]

Bradentons Dutilly takes modified feature at Desoto Speedway

Desoto Speedway


Jesse Dutilly has made Desoto Speedway his personal playground for the 2015

season, winning nearly all of his starts in the Turner Tree and Landscape

Late Model series. Dutilly tried his hand with the J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modifieds on

Saturday night and found himself in a familiar place: victory lane at the

end of the night after claiming the 25-lap feature event.

Nick Hernandez led the first eight laps of the race with Dutilly hot on his

tail. Hernandez slipped in the first turn on the last lap, allowing Dutilly

to get by for the lead. Dutilly, who was driving the same car that was nearly destroyed in an

accident at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola earlier this summer, rocketed

away from Hernandez and third-place runner Doug Moff to take the victory –

his seventh straight that also includes six consecutive late model feature

wins at Desoto Speedway.

In the 25-lap Modified Mini feature, Tom Zimmerman took advantage of some

contact by cars in the front two rows to go from his fifth starting spot to

first by the time the field got to the backstretch. Zimmerman was

stretching his lead over Fred Paravicini and Darren Ellis when the caution

flew for an accident involving Logan Allen and Frank Pelusio. Zimmerman got the jump on Paravicini on the restart and quickly checked out on the rest of the field. Paravicini, Ellis and Lee Davis were all battling

for the second spot when Allen spun in turn four, bringing out the yellow with just three laps left.

The restart was no problem for Zimmerman as he went on to his first win

since earlier this summer. Paravicini and Ellis rounded out the podium.

Todd Morey led a solid field of Mini Stocks to the green flag for their

25-lap feature event. The race quickly became a four-car battle between

Morey, Cameron Cruse, Johnny Marra and Ronnie Robinson. Robinson got by

Marra for third near the halfway point and wasted no time running down the

front duo of Morey – who normally drives monster trucks and was driving the

car regularly driven by Jessica Ostrovskis – and Cameron Cruse.

Just past the halfway point, Robinson spun trying to dive under Cruse for

second in turn one. On the ensuing restart, Morey and Cruse were pulling

away from Marra when Kristen Milthaler and Sherry Best got together coming

out of turn four, sending Milthaler hard into the front stretch wall and

ending her night. Robinson went from fifth to second on the restart and got to Morey’s bumper

with three laps to go. He tried going around the outside, nearly pulling

even with Morey as the field took the white flag. Morey made the low side work, holding off a last-ditch effort from Robinson to take the checkered flag. Cruse, Marra and Ren Wright Jr. rounded out the

top five.

The Take Aim Gun Range Street Stocks were up next for their 30-lap feature.

Jeff Firestine, fresh off his win in the class a week ago, grabbed the lead

from Ronnie Brock Jr. on the fifth lap and was quickly joined at the front

of the field by James Nanny, who was making a challenge for the top spot

when the caution flew on lap 11. Firestine and Nanney ran side-by-side for several laps after the restart,

with Firestine finally getting the advantage just past the halfway point of

the race. Nanney stalked Firestine around the 3/8-mile oval for several

laps and loosened up the leader just enough to take the top spot with eight

laps to go. Nanney started pulling away from Firestine over the closing laps and won by

nearly a half a straightaway. Travis Barfield finished third.


In other action Saturday night, Kenny Gibson won his third straight 25-lap

Bomber feature;  Richard Campbell won the 25-lap Enduro feature and 10-lap

Enduro flag pole race; and Duane Campbell won the  15-lap Enduro road

course race.


Next week, Desoto Speedway will host the first leg of the Super Late Model

Triple Crown series with a 100-lap Super Late Model main event. The Mini

Stocks will have a 40-lap feature event, and the Street Stocks and Bombers

will also be in action. All events will be for double points.


10-3- 2015




Open Wheel Modified

  1. 88 Jesse Dutilly Bradenton
  2. 37 Nick Hernadez Palmetto
  3. 46 Doug Moff Ft. Myers
  4. 94 Dalton Nelson Pinallas Park
  5. 75 Bobby Blake Grande Isle
  6. 4 Jim Smith Inverness
  7. 84 Rob Haygood Bradenton
  8. 45 Greg Krom Sarasota D.N.S.

Street Stock

  1. 6 James Nanney Bradenton
  2. 93 Jeff Firestine Venice
  3. 11 Travis Barfield Myakka City
  4. 69 Keith Neff Bradenton
  5. 1 Ronnie Brock Jr. Sebring
  6. 45 Mike Karrivan Bradenton
  7. 72 Roger Dufrense Bradenton
  8. 88 Jimmy Castleberry Aburndale
  9. 7 Colleen Whitesell Bradenton
  10. 8 Jamie Castleberry Auburndale


  1. 23 Kenny Gibson Venice
  2. 22x Randy Spicer New Port Richey

3.88 Jimmy Castleberry Bartow

  1. 7 Colleen Whitescell Bradenton
  2. 74 Paul Huffstutler Bradenton
  3. 92 Jerry Groves Venice

Modified Mini

  1. 55 Tom Zimmerman Largo
  2. 86 Fred Paravicini Bradenton
  3. 72 Darin Ellis Myakka
  4. 77 Lee Davis Lakeland
  5. 4p Donnie Powers Myakka City
  6. 6d Dave Davis Bradenton
  7. 67 Bo Davis Lakeland
  8. 6f Jimmy Frazier Avon Park
  9. 68 Logan Allen N. Ft. Myers
  10. 77r Rachelle Rudolph Tampa
  11. 07 Steven Simpson New Smyna
  12. 55f Frank Pelusio Clearwater

Mini Stock

  1. 91v Todd Morey Wachula
  2. 05 Ronnie Robinson Bradenton
  3. 22 Cameron Cruse Sarasota
  4. 008 Ren Wright Jr. St. Pete
  5. 99x Johnny Marra Cape Coral
  6. 3 Sherry Best Myakka
  7. 67 Jimmie Best Myakka
  8. 10 Kristen Milthaler North Port
  9. 9 Meagan Hirschy Port Charlotte
  10. 01 Christopher Milthaler North Port
  11. 28 Eric Daniels Bradenton
  12. 27 Frank Pelusio Clearwater D.N.S.


1.132 Richard Campbell  Siesta Key

  1. 3 Duane Campbell
  2. 869 Joe Lombardi Sarasota
  3. 97 Elizabeth Keene Bradenton
  4. 702 Justin Arrigoni Sarasota
  5. 7 Molly Lombardi Sarasota
  6. 4+ Darrell Taylor Bradenton

Road Course

  1. 3 Duane Campbell
  2. 132 Richard Campbell
  3. 4t Darrell Taylor
  4. 97 Elizabeth Keene
  5. 102 Justin Arrigoni
  6. 8 Josh Widner
  7. 869 Joe LomBardi
  8. 7 Molly Lombardi


  1. 132 Richard Campbell
  2. 3 Duane Campbell
  3. 4+ Darrell Taylor
  4. 869 Joe Lombardi
  5. 97 Elizabeth Keene
  6. 702 Justin Arrigoni
  7. 8 Josh Widner

[xyz-ihs snippet=”Posts-Ad”]