Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , ,      3 years ago     766 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Bloomquist Takes Spring Shootout at LaSalle Speedway



LaSalle, IL – May 20, 2017 – Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Scott Bloomquist inherited the lead with five laps to go when race leader Josh Richards spun in turn number two, bringing out a caution flag. Bloomquist then led the rest of the way for his 81st career LOLMDS victory.

Bloomquist started on the outside front row and led the first 35 laps of the race until Richards worked his way around him in heavy lapped traffic. Richards began pulling away from the pack when he hooked the berm in turn number two causing him to spin sideways in front of the field. The caution came out and Richards had to restart on the tail end of the lead lap.

Bloomquist then held off pole sitter Mike Marlar for his fourth series win of the season. Marlar came home in second, with Dennis Erb Jr. charging from the 10th starting spot to finish third. Don O’Neal and Tim McCreadie completed the top-five.

“I would like to thank my crew; they have worked their butts off the last few weeks building a new car after we wrecked one in Ohio. The top line was fast tonight, but it was also treacherous in spots. A little below that there were some slick spots and I think maybe that’s what caused him [Richards] to spin.”

“I would like to thank Ed Petroff of Petroff Towing – he was here tonight – also CPS Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Company, Base Race Fuels, Mark Martin Automotive, Sorbera Chiropractic, Horton Coal, Crossfit by Overton, Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars, and Andy Durham Racing Engines.”

Marlar was primed to become the 11th different winner this year in series competition, but on the last restart Bloomquist lengthened his lead out which carried him to victory lane.

It was a good night for us, we set fast time and won our heat race. We had a good car for the feature and were in the hunt all race. Congrats to Scott on the win. It was a tough break for Josh, I hated to see that. He had a good car. I started running the top and it was fast, the track was not too bad at all. They kept working on it throughout the night and it helped it. Hopefully it was a good race for the fans to watch, “said the driver of the Ronnie Delk, Delk Equipment, RS Trading Company, Rocket entry.

Erb came home in third after starting on the outside of the fifth row. “We started deep in the field and to finish where we did we are very happy. The last two races were tough on us, but we had Heather [crew chief Lyne] back with us tonight. We just tried to keep it low enough away from that berm, overall it was good clean race among the frontrunners,” said the driver of the McBride Mack, Vomac Truck Sales, M&S Concrete, M&M Painting, Black Diamond Chassis.

Completing the top-ten were 20th place starter, Shannon Babb, Jimmy Owens, Chris Simpson, Darrell Lanigan, and Steve Casebolt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
 Race Summary
 Thursday, May 18th, 2017
 Spring Shootout
 LaSalle Speedway – LaSalle, IL

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Mike Marlar / 12.732 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Chris Simpson / 12.875 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Mike Marlar, Don O’Neal, Hudson O’Neal, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chris Simpson, Darrell Lanigan, Gregg Satterlee, Mitch McGrath, Jason Feger, Brent Larson

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Josh Richards, Steve Francis, Jimmy Owens, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Taylor Scheffler, Scott Schmitt, Kolby Vandenbergh, Jeff Riddell, Earl Pearson, Jr.

 Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Bobby Pierce, Tim McCreadie, Steve Casebolt , Mike Mataragas, Spencer Diercks, Boom Briggs, Kevin Weaver, Rich Bell, Shannon Babb

Penske Racing Shocks B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Gregg Satterlee, Shannon Babb, Kevin Weaver, Jason Feger, Scott Schmitt, Rich Bell, Brent Larson, Mitch McGrath, Kolby Vandenbergh, Jeff Riddell, Earl Pearson Jr.-DNS
Visit Us on Your Favorite Social Media Outlets!

Like us on Facebook  Follow us on Twitter
View on Instagram
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Marketing Partners Include: Allstar Performance, Andy Durham Racing Engines, AR Bodies, ASi Racewear, Bad Boy Mowers, Barry Wright Race Cars, Black Diamond Chassis, Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars, BRODIX, Capital Race Cars, COMP Cams, Cornett Racing Engines, CV Products,, Dunn-Benson Ford, E3 Spark Plugs, Earnhardt Technologies Group, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, Fast Orange, FK Rod Ends, GEICO, General Tire, Heath Lawson Photography, Hoosier Tire, Hot Rod Processing, JRi Shocks, Keyser MFG, K&N Engineering, Lucas Oil Products, Lucas Oil Racing TV, Longhorn Chassis, MAVTV Motorsports Network, Midwest Sheet Metal, Miller Welders, Öhlins Shocks, Optima Batteries, Outerwears, Performance Bodies, PFC Brakes, Pierce Race Cars, Pro Power Racing Engines, Protect The Harvest, QA1, Ram Mounts, Rhino AG, Rocket Chassis, Rugged Radios, Safecraft, Simpson Race Products, Spray Nine Sunoco Race Fuels, Super Clean, Wallace Engines, WELD Racing, Wrisco Aluminum, 5150 Race Trailers