Moff wins third straight feature at Desoto

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , ,      9 years ago     3497 Views     Comments Off on Moff wins third straight feature at Desoto  

Moff wins third straight feature at Desoto

Provided by Desoto Speedway

If there’s been a J.D. Byrider Open Wheel modified feature at Desoto Speedway this season, Doug Moff has been at the front of the field.

Saturday night’s feature at Desoto Speedway would turn out to be a familiar sight as Moff parked in the winner’s circle for the third straight time after taking the checkerd flag in the caution-free 40-lap main event.

Outside polesitter Nick Hernandez took lead on the start. Moff dove underneath Cody Stickler for second on the fourth lap and needed just a handful of circuits to close on Hernandez.

Over the next several laps Moff stalked Hernandez around 3/8-mile oval. Moff made his move as the field came out of the fourth turn on the 19th lap and wrestled the lead from Hernandez at the start/finish line.

Hernandez and third-place Cody Benoit stayed right with Moff for a few laps until Moff caught lapped traffic with a little over 10 laps to go.

The lapped traffic proved not to be an issue for Moff, who would pull out to nearly a straightaway lead to complete the early-season hat trick of wins at Desoto Speedway.

“I’ll take what I can get,” Moff said in victory lane. “The car was running really well. Our times fell off a lot but everyone else must have fallen off too.”

Hernandez finished second, while Benoit fought off a last-lap challenge from D.J. Hoelzle to hang on to third.

“Doug Moff has got something figured out,” Hernandez said. “It’s great to bring the car home in one piece. You can’t ask for more than that.”

Cameron Ray rounded out the top five.

In the 30-lap Take Aim Gun Range Street Stocks 30-lap, Mike Karrivan started third and passed Jim Brenner for the top spot and the end of the fourth lap. As Karrivan grabbed the lead Points leader Bobby Mobley and recent winner James Nanney found themselves marred in traffic after some early issues.

Mobley went from fourth to second on lap 12, with Nanney directly on his tail. They were a straightaway behind Karrivan. Karrivan’s huge lead was wiped out when the caution flew for Mike Roland’s spin on lap 17.

Karrivan and Mobley raced side-by-side for the lead for several laps before Karrivan finally got the advantage coming out of the second turn on lap 21. Nanney got by
Mobley for second with seven laps to go, but could only get to within a car length of Karrivan in the closing laps as Karrivan drove on to his second feature win of the season.

In other action Saturday night, Kenny Gibson held off a late challenge from Carl Thompson to win the 20-lap Bomber feature; Darrin Ellis won his second consecutive Modified Mini Stock feature; Cameron Cruise got the jump at the start of the 25-lap Mini Stock feature and went on to win by over half a lap; Seth Adams took the win in the 20-lap Legends feature;

Sportsmen, Pure Stocks, Mini Stocks, Flag Pole racing, Enduro racing and “Road Course” racing highlight next week’s lineup at Desoto Speedway.
5-2- 2015
Street Stock
1. 45 Mike Karravan Bradenton…
2. 6 James Nanney Bradenton
3. 29 Bobby Mobley Eagle Lake
4. 64 David Bowman Bradenton
5. 69 Keith Neff Bradenton
6. 11 Travis Barfield Myakka City
7. 52 Mike Roland Polk City
8. 57 Jim Brenner Sarasota
9. 27 Tyler Lau Bradenton
10. 29b Roy Healey
Open Wheel Modified
1. 46 Doug Moff Ft. Myers
2. 37 Nick Hernandez Palmetto
3. 98 Cody Benoit Buckinham
4. 8 D.J. Hoelzle Palm Harbor
5. 9 Camron Ray Homassasa
6. 99 Cody Stickler Pineallas Park
7. 25 L.J. Grimm Seffner
8. 61 Wayne Jefferson Pineallas Park
9. 03 Kyle Bookmiller Riverview
10. 12 Eric Rudd Naples
11. 29 Bobby Mobley Eagle Lake
12. 17 Ricky Coffin Lutz
13. 00 Shawn Harper Winter Haven
14. 45 Greg Krom Sarasota
1. 23 Kenny Gibson Venice
2. 75 Carl Thompson Auburndale
3. 25 Roy Healy
4. 22 Randy Spicer New Port Richey
5. 39 Jerry Tetting
6. 123 Brandon Ducherer
7. 32 Jeff Firestine Venice
9 93 Buddy Thompson Sarasota
10. 8 David Myers Bartow
11. 72 Gerrald Fossa Bradenton
12. 57 Aaron Holmes Auburndale
13. 34 Jody Gill Auburndale
14. 10 Tristan Collins North Port D.N.S.
Modified Mini
1. 72 Darin Ellis Myakka
2. 77 Lee Davis Lakeland
3. 95 Ronnie Brock Jr. Sebring
4. 67 Bo Davis Lakeland
5. 07 Travis Barfield Myakka
6. 3 Kevin Brcck Avon Parjk
7. 17 Jimmie Wood Bradenton
8. 32 Josh Carbone Bradenton
9. 55 Tom Zimmerman Largo
10. 81 Travis Kirby Myakka
11. 4 Jerold Thompson Sarasota
1. 5 Seth Adams Lakeland
2. 21 Devin McLeod Ziphyrhills
3. 8 Donovan Ponder Orlando
4. 07 Dave Gleason Orlando
5. 7 Mike Verhaagh Ft. Myers
6. 26 Joey Langis Coral Springs
7. 9 Mitch Verhaagh
8. 1 Cameron Cruise Bradenton
9. 14 Brady Marshall Sarasota
Mini Stock
1. 22 Cameron Cruse Sarasota
2. 91 Jessica Ostrovskis St. Pete
3. 05 Randy Johnson
4. 99 Johnny Marra Cape Coral
5. 28 Eric Daniels Bradenton
6. 67 Jimmie Best Myakka
7. 3 Sherry Best Myakka
8. 5 Larry Deaton Alabama

cameron cruse11187283_10204487597014740_7454537380224534867_ountitledseth adamsparade lapopen wheels to qualifymike kerrivanmay 9th face bookkenny gibsondoug moffdoug moff victory lapdarrin ellis