Tennessee and Kentucky Stops Next for Lucas Oil Late Models

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      5 years ago     851 Views     Comments Off on Tennessee and Kentucky Stops Next for Lucas Oil Late Models  

Tennessee and Kentucky Stops Next for Lucas Oil Late Models

Story By: Jeremy Shields/LOLMDS

Photos By: Heath Lawson/LOLMDS

BATAVIA, OHIO (April 30, 2019) – The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series are revving up for events at Tazewell Speedway and Florence Speedway this Friday and Saturday, May 3-4.

Both blockbuster events will feature a complete program of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a 50-lap, $12,000-to-win main event for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Tazewell Speedway, widely known for its high-banks and lightning fast speeds, produces thrilling, edge of your seat racing action, lap after lap. In addition to the pulse-pounding action of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, the Toyota Knoxville/Secret City Dodge Jeep/Ted Russell Ford 50 will also include Sportsman, Four Cylinders, and Classic Cars.

In 2018, Jonathan Davenport inherited the lead on lap 46 when Tennessee native Jimmy Owens left the race with terminal issues. Davenport later held off a hard-charging Tim McCreadie to claim the win. McCreadie finished a close second, with Don O’Neal coming home in third. Dennis Erb Jr. and Earl Pearson Jr. rounded out the top five.

On Friday, the pit gate will open at 2:00 pm, followed by general admission gates at 5:00pm. A drivers meeting will take place at 7:15pm, with on-track action beginning at 7:45pm. Tazewell Speedway is located just two miles northwest of Tazewell, Tennessee at 1400 Bacchus Road. For additional information, visit www.tazewellspeedway.net or call (423) 626-2222.

On Saturday, the tour will trek to Florence Speedway for the first of two stops this season at the historic half-mile oval. The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will battle against a talented group of local and regional standouts in honor of the late Ralph Latham. Modifieds and Crate Late Models will also be in competition.

The Ralph Latham Memorial pays tribute to the three-decade standout driver from Cincinnati who lost his battle with cancer in August of 1986. Hudson O’Neal claimed the rain-shortened, 2018 edition of the Ralph Latham Memorial. O’Neal took control on lap six from Kyle Bronson and held the point until rain started to fall, just a few laps shy of the halfway mark. When the race resumed, O’Neal outran Tyler Erb to score the $12,000 victory. Gregg Satterlee, Bobby Pierce, and Josh Richards completed the top five.

At Florence Speedway, the pit gate opens at 3:00pm and grandstands open at 5:30pm. A drivers meeting will also take place at 5:30pm. Hot laps are slated for 6:00pm with racing beginning at 7:30pm.

Florence Speedway is located in Northern Kentucky, approximately 25 miles south of Cincinnati, Ohio on US 42. Additional information can be obtained by visiting www.florencespeedway.com, or call the speedway office at (859) 493-0034.