T-Mez Tops Grant In Gateway Dirt Nationals Prelim Thriller

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  ,      3 years ago     917 Views     Leave your thoughts  

T-Mez Tops Grant In Gateway Dirt Nationals Prelim Thriller

Story By: Pete MacDonald/RacersGuide.com

Photo By: Racing Performance Media

St. Louis, MO – Thomas Meseraull and Justin Grant swapped the lead five time over the last two laps during Thursday night’s Gateway Dirt Nationals Prelim feature for the Midgets.

18 Cars took the green flag for the 20 lap main event, after a few tries to get a few laps in Justin Grant would jump out to the lead and appear as if he had this one in the bag. It seems as the more laps that went on, the more the track widened out as Thomas Meseraull would wind his Envirofab No. 7m around the top reeling in Grant at will as the laps clicked off.

With two laps to go Meseraull made his first move sliding up in front of Grant off of turn two only to have Grant return the favor coming off of turn four to take the white. With Grant leading back into turns one and two, T-Mez pulled another slide job on Grant taking the lead down the backstretch. Grant would again pull the same move he made the lap before on Meseraull retaking the lead. As Grant was sliding back in front of Meseraull, Meseraull backed off just enough to get a run underneath Grant to beat him to the finish line by less than a 1/2 car length.

Grant would go on to finish second with Blake Hahn, Chris Windom and Logan Seavey rounding out the Top-5. Meseraull, Grant and Hahn are locked into Saturday nights A-Main in The Dome.

36 Midgets are entered for competition this weekend at the Gateway Dirt Nationals, the track is the absolute perfect size for them at just over 1/5 mile. Defending winner Christopher Bell’s night came to an end after suffering front end damage after colliding with a flipping Karter Sarff. The entire Midget portion of the program was ran off and completed before 9:50pm eastern time last night.

Gateway Dirt Nationals Night 1…1 #7X Thomas Meseraull 2 #4A Justin Grant 3 #52 Blake Hahn 4 #17BC Chris Windom 5 #39 Logan Seavey 6 #19H Anton Hernandez 7 #7BC Tyler Courtney 8 #11A Andrew Felker 9 #9X Paul Nienhiser 10 #17B Austin Brown 11 #6BC Ryan Newman 12 #117 Tim Crawley 13 #28 Ace McCarthy 14 #72 Sam Johnson 15 #84 Christopher Bell 16 #08K Karter Sarff 17 #57 Daniel Robinson