Sunoco NYSS At Oswego Speedway

Posted by  Racers Guide   in       11 months ago     285 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Sunoco NYSS At Oswego Speedway

Story By: Shylo Fuchs/NYSS

Photos By: Mark Ranalletta/

On a perfect summers day in Oswego, NY 34 Sunoco New York Super Stocks would sign in vying for 26 starting positions in the 30 lap scheduled main event at the Steel Palace.
After four heats would qualify 20 cars and two others would use last years points provisionals to secure themselves spots it would leave a dozen more cars fighting their way through the B-main for the final four coveted starting positions. The consi would have a 3 car pack of Brian Hallett, the #7 of Josh Hunter, and the #46 of Cole Hicks battling for the final transfer spot through the entire race with the #36 of Brian Hallett coming out with that small victory.

The feature event would take place after the sun had crested over the horizon off turns one and two and would see the #8 of Chris Finocchario and the #44 of Jake Wylie leading the 26 car field to the green flag.
Caution would fly on lap 3, for the #9 of Griffin Miller and the #25 of Joel Gleason who would come together sideways in turn one. The #29 of Bill Frisbee would take the lead over the #44 of Jake Wylie and the #8 of Chris Finocchario on the restart but Frisbee would sustain a broken axle after some contact and would go to the high side between turns one and two on lap 5 and eventually pull into the pit area leaving Jake Wylie to take the top spot. The following lap would find the #91 of Dylan Bancroft doing the same thing and he would also retire at that time.

The #15 of Nick Robinson, last years point champion, would be trying to get to the front and would settle into the second position constantly challenging Jake Wylie for the top spot but coming up short every time.
Lap 18 would have the #22 of Willie Strusz buried in the foam snow bank between turns 3 and 4 resulting in major damage to his black and blue ride. Others involved in the scuffle would be the36 of Brian Hallett and the #54 of Amber VanOrden. VanOrden would be able to continue on but, Hallett would find his way to the pit area.

Laps 18 through 30 would be run without incident and would only see 5th place taken from #75 of Zack Willis by the #48 of Eric Brown. As the field was coming to the checkered we had the 73 of Jason Duke Sr and the #94 of Billy Coyle come together while coming off turn four making for an interesting completion to the race.
Jake Wiley would take home the Win for the New York Super Stocks first race of the season. Celebrations would commence on the front stretch and the top three would proceed to tech.
A huge thank you goes out to Aratari Auto Color & Detail for sponsoring the night as well as our series sponsors Insinger Fuels, F/A Products, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Fuel and Big Time Service.
Big Time Service would present a hard charger award to the #90 of Nate Peckham who would climb from the 26th starting position to 10th place at the checkered. Congrats!!
We hope to see you all at Chemung Speedrome Friday June 21st for the Gary Marshall Memorial 50 Lapper.

Feature Finish 44 Jake Wylie, 15 Nick Robinson, 98 Scott Wylie, 8 Chris Finocchario, 48 Eric Brown, 75 Zack Willis, 39 James Lamoreaux, 38 Shawn Frarey, 11 Terry Cheetham, 90 Nate Peckham, 87 Mike Hyman, 34 Charlie Sharpsteen, 13 Aaron Higgins, 94 Billy Coyle, 3 Jimmy Steffenhagen, 64 Scott Dinzler, 73 Jason Duke, 54 Amber VanOrden, 04 JP Harbst, 37 Jason Dinzler, 36 Brian Hallett, 22 Willie Strusz, 25 Joel Gleason, 9 Griffin Miller, 91 Dylan Bancroft, 29 Bill Frisbee