Sammons Scores Third While Pauch Jr. Wraps Up 2019 Title At New Egypt

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      4 years ago     1136 Views     Comments Off on Sammons Scores Third While Pauch Jr. Wraps Up 2019 Title At New Egypt  

Sammons Scores Third While Pauch Jr. Wraps Up 2019 Title At New Egypt

Story By: Pete MacDonald/New Egypt Speedway

Photos By: Harry Meeks/

New Egypt, NJ – Davey Sammons and Dakota Kessler led the 30-Lap Vahlco Wheels Modified feature to the green. Sammons would jump out the early lead and led the first six laps when Johnny Guarino, Cale Ross and Wade Hendrickson tangled in turn three. Sammons would jump back out to the lead on the ensuing restart with Kessler in tow. The second caution of the event would fly on lap ten when Kevin Vaclavicek, Dominick Buffalino and Blaine Bracelin got together in turn four. Sammons would again take command of the field on the restart. Brandon Grosso would take over the runner-up spot from Kessler after starting 10th on lap 13. The only slight hiccup that Sammons would have would be on lap 15 when his right side sail panel came loose and folded over which would not phase him one bit as he continued to set a torrid pace. Billy Pauch Jr. who started 12th would now be in the third position as him and Grosso battled for second while they chased after Sammons. 2018 track champion David VanHorn had now raced up from his 13th starting spot while him and Mike Butler put on a crowd-pleasing duel running side by side for the fourth position lap after lap toward the end of the event. They would all be no match for Sammons and he would lead wire-to-wire scoring his third Vahlco Wheels Modified main event of 2019 at New Egypt Speedway. Brandon Grosso would come home second with Billy Pauch Jr. third, David VanHorn fourth, and Mike Butler completing the top five.

“Two weeks ago we changed something on the car and had a motor issue, we got everything back in time for last week and found out we had a bent valve. So, we found something and it took us two weeks to run it. I drove as hard as I could. The track was really fun, I’ve won races where I had to run the bottom and it’s nice to win one where you have to get up on the wheel. We fought for this and we’re just happy to be here”, said Sammons post race.

After clinching the 2019 Vahlco Wheels Modified title the week prior, Billy Pauch Jr. was officially crowned champion this week, for Pauch Jr. it is his second championship in three years and four straight seasons where he hasn’t finished worse than second in points.

“It was a tough and challenging year, we really got going there. We really wanted to win tonight but hats off to Davey (Sammons), Our guys are awesome, this means a lot, I grew up here as a kid, we’ve had a good couple of years here and we have a lot of fun”, Pauch Jr. said following the race.

Brian Spencer picked up his second straight Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Car feature over Rich Mellor, Larry Drake, Duane Nixon and Heidi Hedin. With his second place finish Rich Mellor has clinched the 2019 Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Car championship.

Robbie Holzwarth scored his second Crate Modified win of 2019 and the second of his career over Ryan Heim, Sammy Martz Jr., Matt Miller and Johnny Bangs. The point battle is closer than ever with Joe Toth leading Johnny Bangs by just two points and Ryan Simmons 10 out of the lead in third heading into next week’s final points race. The Crate Modified results are currently unofficial.

Rob Longo won the 15-lap feature for the Mike’s Performance Center 4-Cylinders over point leader Mike Fox, Joe Garey Sr., Dom Antonelli and Scott Dunn.

New Egypt Speedway is back in action next Saturday night when Hammer Electric presents Championship Night along with ¼ Midget Night. Track champions in the Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless Sprint Cars, Hammer Sportsman, Crate Modifieds, Street Stocks and the Mike’s Performance Center 4-Cylinders will all be crowned. Also all area ¼ Midget Racers are invited to put their cars on display and take part in our ¼ Midget parade during intermission.

Adult Admission (16+) is $20, Seniors (65+) are $18, Teens (12-15) & Military w/ID are $10 while Kids 11 & Under are FREE. Pit gates will open at 4PM with the grandstands opening at 5PM. Hot Laps are scheduled for 6PM with racing scheduled to begin at 7PM next Saturday.

New Egypt Speedway, which is New Jersey’s premier dirt racing facility, is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike. A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country. New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house. The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways. Concession facilities serve up everything from Jersey Burgers to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.
For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.

New Egypt Speedway Results

Flemington Car & Truck Country 

First Responders & Modified Championship Night


Vahlco Wheels MODIFIEDS

Feature (30 laps):  1. Davey Sammons 2. Brandon Grosso 3. Billy Pauch Jr. 4. David VanHorn 5. Mike Butler 6. Dakota Kessler 7. Ryan Krachun 8. John McClelland 9. Jimmy Horton 10. Cale Ross 11. Danny Bouc 12. Rich Rutski 13. Wade Hendrickson 14. Billy Osmun 15. PJ Oliver 16. Frank Venezia 17. Bob Lillick 18. Danny Carlough 19. Jack Swain 20. Pat Wall 21. Kevin Vaclavicek 22. Dominick Buffalino 23. Blaine Bracelin 24. Johnny Guarino  DNQ: John Pakenham, Bob Rambone 

Heat Winners: Davey Sammons, Kevin Vaclavicek, Billy Pauch Jr.

Consi Winner: Cale Ross

Larry’s Hot Rods & Harley’s Northeast Wingless SPRINTS (NEWS): 

Feature (20 laps):  1. Brian Spencer 2. Rich Mellor 3. Larry Drake 4. Duane Nixon 5. Heidi Hedin 6. Gary Huston 7. Greg Shepsis 8. Brad Schaale 9. Eric Degler 10. Al Cheney 11. Chace Leahy 12. Ken Nealis

Heat Winners: Duane Nixon, Larry Drake

CRATE MODIFIEDS (Unofficial Results)

Feature (20 laps): 1. Bobby Holzwarth 2. Ryan Heim 3. Sammy Martz Jr 4. Johnny Bangs 5. Matt Miller 6. Ryan Simmons 7. Joe Toth 8. Anthony Tramontana 9. Jon Meyer 10. Steve Hicks 11. Kevin Borden 12. Andy Walko 13. Robbie Dunn 14. Vinny Troia 15. Zach Merola 16. Jeremy Martino 17. Dan Fleming 18. Darren Cox 19. Aaron Weaver 20. Tom Princiotta 21. Eric Palmer 22. Jake Roveda 23. Glenn McIntyre 24. Nick Van Wickle 25. Ryan Krushinski

DNQ: Jarrod Burdge, Will Protinick, Glenn McIntyre, Rob Mancini                                                                                                                                        

Heat Winners: Tom Princiotta, Andy Walko, Bobby Holzwarth

Consi Winner: Steve Hicks

Mike’s Performance Center 4-CYLINDERS

Feature (15 laps):  1. Rob Longo 2. Mike Fox 3. Joe Garey Sr. 4. Dom Antonelli 5. Scott Dunn 6. Jimmy Avery 7. Penny Horner 8. Jim Backowski 9. Joe Garey Jr. 10. Ashley Wroble 11. Joe King