Robinson Wins, Shirley Closes on DIRTcar Summer Nationals Crown at Oakshade

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  ,      5 months ago     90 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Robinson Wins, Shirley Closes on DIRTcar Summer Nationals Crown at Oakshade

14-Year-Old Racer Earns DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory

Story By: DIRTcar Racing PR

Photos by: Ruben Mireles

WAUSEON, OH – July 12, 2019 – Kent Robinson battled Jason Feger side-by-side to claim the second DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of his career on Friday night at Oakshade Raceway, which also came at Oakshade in 2017.

The drama was building for the championship with points leader Brian Shirley 17th in the field while second-running Bobby Pierce started sixth. Shirley methodically worked his way forward throughout the 40-lap Feature and wound up finishing eighth, one spot behind Pierce to maintain his Summer Nationals championship advantage heading into Saturday night’s finale.

Jason Feger drew the pole position with Frank Heckenast Jr. setting the front row for the $5,000-to-win Feature. Feger led early around the middle groove leaving the bottom slightly open. Robinson edged ahead of Feger on lap 14, but Feger charged right back to the front on the following lap.

Feger started to pull away from Robinson as Heckenast challenged second, but eight laps later Robinson and Heckenast were on Feger’s tail in a three-way battle for the lead. Robinson moved inside of Feger and the two raced side-by-side for the lead, with Robinson finally gaining the advantage on lap 23. This time he wouldn’t surrender the top spot and powered ahead to the checkered flag with Feger in second and Heckenast third.

14-Year-Old Gossum wins DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature: Hunt Gossum, a 14-year-old racer from Mayfield, KY, powered to the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory on Friday night at Oakshade Raceway to become the youngest winner in tour history.

Gossum chased Curt Spalding for the lead in the 25-lap Feature when Spalding was slowed by lapped traffic. Gossum, who started racing UMP Modifieds as a 10-year-old, went the top with six to go, passed Spalding, survived a restart with three to go and drove off with the $1,000 checkered flag.

Spalding wound up second for the third consecutive night as Gossum became the 65th different winner in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals history.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Feature (40 Laps) – 1. 7R-Kent Robinson [3]; 2. 25F-Jason Feger [1]; 3. 99JR-Frank Heckenast, Jr. [2]; 4. 51-Devin Shiels [5]; 5. CJ1-Rusty Schlenk [4]; 6. 22-Gregg Satterlee [8]; 7. 32-Bobby Pierce [6]; 8. 3S-Brian Shirley [17]; 9. 2S-Travis Stemler [11]; 10. 42-Chad Finley [10]; 11. 67-Chris Keller [7]; 12. 55-Jeep VanWormer [14]; 13. 49-Brian Ruhlman [18]; 14. 23-Brad Wade [21]; 15. X3-Dan Wallace [12]; 16. 10-Brett Miller [15]; 17. 31AUS-Paul Stubber [16]; 18. P3-Truck Robertson [22]; 19. 25H-Chuck Hummer [19]; 20. 88-Andrew Reaume [9]; 21. 50-Ryan Missler [13]; 22. 77-Steve Kester [20]; KSE Hard Charger Award: 3S-Brian Shirley[+9]

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 99-Hunt Gossum [2]; 2. 5CS-Curt Spalding [1]; 3. 47-Collin Thirlby [3]; 4. 2-Nick Hoffman [5]; 5. 12M-John McClure [7]; 6. 2D-Curtis Deisenroth [8]; 7. 65-Todd Sherman [9]; 8. O7K-Curtis King [6]; 9. 19B-Brandon Ordway [16]; 10. 17T-Michael Tarlton [11]; 11. 11JS-Josh Scott [12]; 12. 88-Matt Crafton [20]; 13. 20K-Bill Keeler [15]; 14. 49-Brian Ruhlman [4]; 15. 22S-Brian Speelman [17]; 16. 23-Luke Hubbell [22]; 17. 25-Josh Lolmaugh [18]; 18. OO6-Jarrett Rendel [19]; 19. 81-Rick Swartout [21]; 20. 8C-Corey Bevard [10]; 21. 555-Justin Coulter [13]; 22. 20M-Josh Morton [14]; KSE Hard Charger Award: 88-Matt Crafton[+8]