Matt Hirschman Slides to Second Tour Type Modified Win

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      1 year ago     1495 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Matt Hirschman Slides to Second Tour Type Modified Win

Story By: Denise Dupont/NASCAR

Photos By: Jim Dupont/NASCAR

NEW SMYRNA, Fla.— Once again Matt Hirschman was in the right place at the right time to take advantage of an opening to score his second tour type modified win this week at New Smyrna Speedway.

The Northampton, Pennsylvania, driver had powered by Timmy Solomito for the lead on a lap 28 restart. Solomito had been fighting to hold of Tommy Catalano when Hirschman, running in third, jetted by them both. Hirschman drove away in the final circuits to win the fourth Modified race of the week. Timmy Solomito of Islip, New York, was second and Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, New York, third.

A late race crash on lap 27 had collected multiple top contenders including Doug Coby, Jimmy Blewett, Anthony Nocella and Patrick Emerling.

Hirschman qualified a disappointing ninth and did not break into the top five until lap 20. Once in the lead pack, Hirschman did what he does best – wait for an opportunity and then pounce on it.

The Super Late Model veteran, Bubba Pollard, once again dominated Thursday’s 35-lap Super Late Model feature as part of the World Series, picking up his third victory. Pollard qualified second, and with the luck of the draw, stayed there to start on the outside of the front row for the drop of the green flag.

Pollard passed Anthony Sergi on lap 10 to take the lead. He dominated the rest of the race to take the win and Super Late Model championship point lead.

“Can’t thank this group of guys enough. It’s a great group.”

Gabe Sommers finished second and Anthony Sergi third.

All eight nights of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series action are airing live on FansChoice.TV. Racing continues on Friday night, where the Tour Type Modifieds will compete in the Richie Evans Memorial 100-lap feature.

Jamie Skinner scored his second Pro Late Model feature win this World Series Thursday, while Jerry Symons picked up the Florida Modified win.

Tour Type Modifieds: 1. Matt Hirschman; 2. Timmy Solomito; 3. Chuck Hossfeld; 4. Bobby Measmer, Jr.; 5. Tommy Catalano; 6. Andy Jankowiak; 7. Patrick Emerling; 8. Calvin Carroll; 9. Dillion Steuer; 10. Amy Catalano; 11. Jeremy Gerstner; 12 Tyler Rypkema.; 13. Nikki Carroll; 14. Anthony Nocella; 15. Doug Coby; 16. Jimmy Blewett; 17. Chris Ridsdale; 18. Mike Leaty; 19. Al Emmarino; 20. Mike Bologna.

Super Late Models: 1. Bubba Pollard; 2. Gabe Sommers 3. Anthony Sergi; 4. Alex Labbe; 5. Carson Kvapil; 6. Ryan Moore; 7. Jeff Noland; 8. Travis Braden; 9. Derek Kraus; 10. Jared Irvan; 11. Tate Fogelman; 12. Derek Griffith; 13. Logan Seavey; 14. Sam Mayer; 15. Nolan Pope; 16. Collin Garrett; 17. Brandon Hebert; 18. Brad May; 19. Christian Rose; 20. Dakota Stroup.