Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , ,      11 months ago     154 Views     Leave your thoughts  


Story By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Photo By: Pete MacDonald/RacersGuide.com

Kokomo, Indiana (August 16, 2019)………C.J. Leary, Logan Seavey and Hunter Schuerenberg will make up a three-driver lineup for Reinbold/Underwood Motorsports during the upcoming Sprint Car Smackdown VIII at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway August 22-23-24.

The Arizona-based team has led the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car driver and owner points since May with Leary (Greenfield, Ind.) as the sole pilot of the No. 19AZ, picking up a February victory in Ocala, Fla. as well as multiple mini-series titles at Eastern Storm and NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week. Along the way, Leary and team have earned an astounding 21 top-ten finishes in 21 starts this year. Leary owns two career USAC National Sprint Car wins at Kokomo, both of which have come during the opening nights of Smackdown, in 2016 and 2017.

Reinbold/Underwood Motorsports has run a single car in each of their 21 National series starts in 2019, but the team is upping the ante for Smackdown with three talented drivers and three cars for the three-night event.

Logan Seavey (Sutter, Calif.), the 2018 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Co-Rookie of the Year will compete in the straight No. 19. The defending USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget champ, who’s won three times in that series and stands 3rd in points, has yet to make a USAC National Sprint start this season. However, he did set quick time and win a USAC Southwest Sprint Car feature in April at Arizona Speedway aboard a Reinbold/Underwood car. In his Smackdown debut in 2018, he ran 15th and 11th on the first two nights and finished up with a 13th place result in the finale.

Hunter Schuerenberg (Sikeston, Mo.) hasn’t appeared in a USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car event since 2017 but will be in the house for Smackdown and in the seat of Reinbold/Underwood’s No. 19BS. With that said, he did compete and win for Reinbold/Underwood this past March in USAC CRA/Southwest Sprint Car competition at Arizona’s Canyon Speedway Park.

Schuerenberg owns nine career USAC National Sprint victories, one of which came at Kokomo during Indiana Sprint Week in 2011. In his most recent Smackdown appearance in 2017, Schuerenberg finished 5th on each of the first two nights before taking 11th in the finale, driving for Reinbold/Underwood.

Past winners of #GYATK Night include Chris Windom (2015 & 2018) and Kevin Thomas, Jr. (2016 & 2017). Past winners of Sprint Car Smackdown are Bryan Clauson (2012), Dave Darland (2013-14-15), Kevin Thomas, Jr. (2016), Tyler Courtney (2017) and Justin Grant (2018).

The racing festivities at Kokomo first get underway on Wednesday, August 21, with #GYATK Night, a USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car non-points Special Event in honor of the late, great Bryan Clauson, winner of the first Smackdown in 2012. Admission is FREE for all racefans. Driver pit passes are also all FREE courtesy of AllStar Performance. All gates open at 3pm Eastern, draw closes at USAC trailer at 6:10pm, drivers meeting in front grandstands at 6:15pm and cars on track at 6:30pm.

For the first two nights of Smackdown on Thursday, August 22 and Friday, August 23, all gates open at 3pm Eastern with cars on track at 6:45pm. Adult general admission tickets are $25 and children age 12 and under free. Pit passes are $35 apiece. 3-day advance reserved: $80.00, call 815-468-8690 for tickets. Advanced tickets sales will end on 8/19, after 8/19 3-day tickets can be purchased at the ticket window on race night for $85.00.

On the final night of Smackdown on Saturday, August 24, all gates open at 3pm Easter with cars on track at 6pm. Adult general admission tickets are $35 and children age 12 and under free. Pit passes are $45 apiece. The Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series will also be on the event card.

All three nights of Smackdown, in addition to #GYATK Night, will be shown live and on-demand on FloRacing. You can listen to live audio of each night on the USAC app and follow along with live timing and scoring on the Race-Monitor app as well as the USAC app.