Erick Rudolph Leads Big Blocks Back to Weedsport on Sunday; Another $500 358-Modified Bonus up for Grabs

Posted by  Racers Guide   in  , , ,      4 months ago     129 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Erick Rudolph Leads Big Blocks Back to Weedsport on Sunday; Another $500 358-Modified Bonus up for Grabs

Story By: Dan Kapuscinski/Weedsport Speedway

Photos By: Jeff Clemons & Mark Ranalletta/

WEEDSPORT, NY (June 12, 2019) – The third round of the Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil Modified Series will take place on Sunday, June 16 at Weedsport Speedway as part of the Thunder on the Erie special, featuring the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series.

The overall payday for the third round of the Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil Modified Series will be $3,000 for the 35-lap main event, with another $500 358-Modified bonus on the line, which was collected last weekend by “Lightning” Larry Wight.

Erick Rudolph kicked off the series with a win in the May 27 Super DIRTcar Series Heroes Remembered 100, while Matt Sheppard stormed to victory last weekend in the All-Star Showcase.

Rudolph leads the current series standings by a mere 1-point over Sheppard and weekly warrior, Chris Hile, who finished third last Sunday and has two top ten finishes so far this season at Weedsport.

Like Hile, Jimmy Phelps has one top five and two top ten runs so far at The Port and rides fourth in the standings, just three points from the lead, with Wight completing the top five positions after two races.

Billy Decker, Tim Sears Jr., Kyle Coffey, Alan Johnson and Todd Root sit as the top ten runners in the Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil standings oas of June 9.

The overall series champion will receive a $2,000 check at the conclusion of the five-race series, which will see round four take place on Sunday, July 28 with the $10,000 to win Hall of Fame 100.

Pit gates will open at 4 p.m. on June 16 with grandstand gates opening at 5 p.m. and racing getting underway at 7 p.m.

Reserved seating is priced at $32, with FREE Fan Pit Pass Upgrades available through June 5.

General admission seating is $28, kids aged 11-17 are $12 with kids 10 and under, FREE.

Member pit admission is $32, non-member pit admission is $36.

Reserved camping is available for $30, general camping is $24.

All tickets and camping are available online at

For a full 2019 schedule and Weedsport Speedway information be sure to visit online at Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @WeedsportSpdwy and LIKE on Facebook at

Interested in seeing your company listed in our press releases, or being placed on ‘PortVision’? Be sure to call the Weedsport Speedway office at (315) 834-3067 for sponsorship and advertising information.

2019 Stirling Lubricants/Champion Racing Oil Modified Standings:

  1. Erick Rudolph – 104
  2. Matt Sheppard – 103
  3. Chris Hile – 103
  4. Jimmy Phelps – 101
  5. Larry Wight – 96
  6. Billy Decker – 92
  7. Tim Sears Jr. – 82
  8. Kyle Coffey – 81
  9. Alan Johnson – 74
  10. Todd Root – 73
  11. Mat Williamson – 71
  12. Matt Farnham – 68
  13. Peter Britten – 67
  14. Pat Ward – 64
  15. Danny Johnson – 61

About Weedsport Speedway: Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few. In 2018, Weedsport introduced the all-new Weedsport Kartway, just outside of the Speedway’s main pit area, to begin to foster the next generation of racers, crew members and race fans. Together, Weedsport Speedway and Kartway are excited to bring fans and followers a schedule of 15 racing events in 2019, hosting everything from Karts and Sprint Cars, to Late Models and Modifieds, Pro Stocks and Micro Sprints, even Flat Track Motorcycles. Couple the racing with state-of-the-art camping and track amenities, unmatched on-site television production capabilities, plus the ability for large scale concert productions and Weedsport is one of the marquee entertainment venues in the country.