Arizona Speedway

Netto Banks $5,000 In ASCS Southwest Copper Classic Finale

  1 year ago     307 Views     Leave your thoughts  

D.J. Netto Banks $5,000 In ASCS Southwest Copper Classic Finale Story By: Bryan Hulbert/ASCS Photo By: Tim Aylwin/ASCS QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. (November 25, 2017) Sweet redemption was on tap for California's D.J. Netto, as a DNF on Friday night turned to Victory to close out the second annual Copper Classic at the Arizona Speedway with the ASCS Southwest Region. Worth $5,000 for the driver of the Netto Ag No. 88n, D.J. is now a back-to-back winner at the Copper Classic. Taking the green from the pole, Netto worked side by side with Willie Croft through the opening lap with D.J.…

View More


  3 years ago     411 Views     Leave your thoughts  

USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: June 13, 2015 - Queen Creek, Arizona - Arizona Speedway   FIRST HEAT: (8 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson (#77M Michaels), 2. Brian Hosford (#22B Weber), 3. Charles Davis Jr. (#50 Massey), 4. Mike Colegrove (#17 Colegrove), 5. Tom Ogle (#48 Ogle), 6. Josh Shipley (#2 Bishop). NT   SECOND HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Dennis Gile (#13 Gile), 2. Josh Pelkey (#12 Allen), 3. Chris Bonneau (#78 Bonneau), 4. Stevie Sussex (#13S Gile), 5. Bruce St. James (#7K St. James), 6. Robert King Jr., (#7S King), 7. Koty McGullam (#44K McGullam). NT   THIRD HEAT:…

View More

ASCS Southwest Returning to Arizona Speedway

  3 years ago     417 Views     Leave your thoughts  

TULSA, Okla. (May 6, 2015) Round seven of the 2015 season for the ASCS Southwest Region is set for this Saturday, May 9 at the Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek, Ariz. for a Mother’s Day Weekend celebration. Last taking on the three-eighths mile oval on April 25, the A-Feature was unfortunately cut short by rain, but had a silver lining when promoter, Jonah Tussel, paid the night’s purse based on the A-Feature starting lineup. Looking to get all 25 laps in the books this Saturday, Rick Ziehl continues to show the way with the southwest arm of the ASCS Nation,…

View More

Southwest Eyes Queen Creek May 16

  3 years ago     541 Views     Leave your thoughts  

Defending two-time USAC Southwest Sprint Car Champion R.J. Johnson will try to set a series record May 16 when the series returns to Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek, Ariz. He is on a streak of four consecutive victories and could become the first driver to win five in a row.   Johnson, of Phoenix, Ariz., won Saturday night's 5th Annual "Canyon Clash" at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, Ariz. Wheeling the Michaels entry, he took the lead with four laps remaining and led to the flag to beat Josh Pelkey, Mike Colegrove, Brian Hosford and Dalten Gabbard.   The win…

View More

Southwest Sprints Ready for May 2 at Canyon; Johnson Again #1 in Arizona Speedway 30-Lapper

  3 years ago     434 Views     Leave your thoughts  

R.J. Johnson enjoys a 37-point lead in his quest for a third consecutive USAC Southwest Sprint Car title after scoring his 21st USAC feature victory in the state of Arizona last Saturday night at Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek. The series resumesMay 2 at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria. Johnson won Saturday night's 30-lap "Spring Fling" at Arizona Speedway after a battle with Stevie Sussex, who led 17 of the 30 laps. Johnson led the final nine to beat Mike Martin, Matt Rossi, Shon Deskins and Charles Davis Jr. for the win. A dozen of Johnson's Arizona victories have come…

View More

Southwest Sprints at Queen Creek Saturday; Vander Weerd Tops at Santa Maria; Johnson Gets #20 at YUMA

  3 years ago     464 Views     Leave your thoughts  

R.J. Johnson leads the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars to Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek, Ariz. Saturday night for the 3rd Annual "Spring Fling." He has a nine-point lead over Stevie Sussex after winning last Saturday night's 30-lap race at Yuma, Ariz. Johnson, of Phoenix, Ariz., recorded a record 20th USAC feature victory in Arizona withSaturday night's 30-lap USAC Southwest Sprint Car victory at Cocopah Speedway in Yuma. Wheeling the Michaels entry, he passed Shon Deskins on lap five and led the rest of the way to beat Matt Rossi, Deskins, Mike Colegrove and Josh Pelkey. Richard Vander Weerd of Visalia,…

View More